DEPARTMENT

VDHVIRCINM COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA FOR OVR USE ONLY
OF HEALTH APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION OF A BIRTH RECORD

Virginia statutes require a fee of $12.00 be charged for each certification of a vital record or for a search of the files when no certification is made. Please make check or
money order payable to State Health Department. There is a $50.00 service charge for returned checks.

IMPORTANT: The person requesting the vital record must submit an enlarged, legible (readable) and clear photocopy of their identification.

REQUESTER INFORMATION DAYTIME PHONE NUMBER
NAME OF REQUESTER (Person completing this application) EMAIL (Include to receive updates about your application)
NAME OF BUSINESS, if applicable D Check this box to receive text notifications.
Message & data rates may apply. (For cell
ADDRESS CITY STATE | ZIP CODE phone numbers only)

WHAT IS YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THE PERSON NAMED ON THE CERTIFICATE?
[Jsetr [IMOTHER [JFATHER [] PARENTONE [] PARENT TWO [J ADULT CHILD ] CURRENT SPOUSE [ ] ADULT SISTER [J ADULT BROTHER

] MATERNAL GRANDPARENT ] PATERNAL GRANDPARENT (] LEGAL GUARDIAN (Submit custody paper) [C] OTHER (Specify)

WHAT IS YOUR REASON FOR REQUESTING THIS CERTIFICATE?

BIRTH CERTIFICATE INFORMATION [ special Use Birth Certificate (Long Form)
(Deﬂnition Of certificate types are listed on the back ) (List Special Use Not Satisfied by Standard Birth Certificate
z = Processing Time is Significantly Increased)
Please Check: [ Birth Certificate [ certificate of Foreign Birth [ Delayed Birth Registration Certificate
TOTAL COPIES ORDERED NAME AT BIRTH (first) (middle) (last) (suffix)
Specify how many of each type
Birth Cert. Delayed Birth _____
Foreign Birth Special Use
If name has changed since birth due to adoption, court order or any reason other than marriage, please list changed name here.
(first) (middle) (last) (suffix)
DATE OF BIRTH PLACE OF BIRTH (city or county in Virginia) HOSPITAL OF BIRTH (if any) SEX D MALE
[J FEMALE
FULL MAIDEN NAME OF MOTHER or PARENT ONE: (first) (middle) (last) (suffix) (maiden name if any)
FULL NAME OF FATHER OR PARENT TWO:  (first) (middle) (last) (suffix) (maiden name if any)

Is an amendment/correction needed? D YES E] NO If YES, enter amendment code from the reverse side. Amendment Code:

I understand that making a FALSE application for a vital record is a FELONY under state and federal law. | certify and affirm that all information on this form is true and

correct.
X SIGNATURE OF REQUESTER: ‘ UNSIGNED APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE PROCESSED.

Submit one (1) document from the primary list OR two (2) documents from the secondary list. The State Registrar reserves the right (§32.1-271C) to accept or deny any
application submitted. The acceptable documents listed may change without prior notice. Acceptable secondary identifications are listed on the back.

ACCEPTABLE PRIMARY IDENTIFICATION LIST

1. Photo Driver’s License issued by U.S. state, territory, or jurisdiction (unexpired or | 2. Learners/Instruction Permit issue by U.S. state, territory or jurisdiction (unexpired or
expired for not more than one year) expired for not more than one year)

3 Photo Identification Card issued by U.S. state, territory, or jurisdiction (unexpired | 4. Current Photo Identification Card - (school or employment with identification number;
or expired for not more than one year) check cashing cards are not acceptable)

5. Unexpired U.S. Military Card of an active duty or retired member 6. U.S. Passport or passport card - unexpired

T Unexpired Foreign Passport with Visa, 1-94 or [-94W 8. U.S. Certificate of Naturalization (form N-550, N-570, N-578)

9. US Certificate of Citizenship (form N-560, N-561) 10. U.S. Citizen Identification Card (form 1-197)

11. Temporary Resident Card (unexpired form 1-688) 12. Employment Authorization Document (unexpired form 1-766)

13. Refugee Travel Document (unexpired form I-571) 14. Resident Alien Card (unexpired form I-551)

15. Permanent Resident Card (unexpired form I1-551) 16. Northern Marianas Card (unexpired form 1-551)

17 Asylum — A copy of the first and last page of application for Asylum 18. Consular Report of Birth Abroad (form FS-240)

19. Certification of Report of Birth of a U.S. citizen (DS-1350) 20. Virginia Criminal Justice Agency Offender Information Form

21, U.S. Probation Offender Information Form 22, Certificate of Birth Abroad (FS-545)

Send Completed Application To:

Please indicate the address you wish the certificate(s) mailed to in the box below Please type or print clearly.

NAME Office of Vital Records
7 P. 0. Box 1000
ADDRESS Richmond, VA 23218-1000
CITY/STATE/ZIP CODE Contact Information:
(804) 662-6200
www.vdh.virginia.gov/vital-records/
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ACCEPTABLE SECONDARY IDENTIFICATION LIST
23, U.S. Selective Service Card 24. U.S. Military Discharge Papers (form DD214)
25. Certified School Records/Transcript issued by a U.S. state or territory 26. Certificate of Enroliment issued by Virginia Department of Education
27, Life insurance policy 28. Health care insurance card - (i.e. Medicare Card, Medicaid Card)
29. Unexpired Welfare/Social Services identification card with photo issued by 30. State issued driver’s license or learner’s/instruction permit with photo; expired not more
municipality than 5 years
31. State issued photo identification card - expired not more than 5 years 2. U.S. Passport or passport card - expired not more than 5 years
33. Unexpired Military Dependent I.D. card with photo 34. Foreign Passport - expired not more than 5 years with a U.S. VISA
35. Unexpired weapon or gun permit issued by federal, state or municipal 36. Unexpired pilot license
government
37. Veteran’s Universal Access Identification Card 38. INS form I-797 (applicable only for the individual whose name appears on the form)
39. USCIS student or dependent SEVIS I-20 with or without USCIS stamp (Applicant’s 40. U.S. Department of State form DS-2019 (Applicant’s name must appear on the form)
name must appear on the form)

Definition of Certificate Types

Birth Certificate (Short Form): Standard Birth Certificate needed in a vast majority of situations. An abstract of the Certificate of Live Birth. Accepted by all local, state and
federal agencies including passport and social security offices. Also accepted by schools, social and civic organizations.

Certificate of Foreign Birth: A birth certificate established for a child born in a foreign country and adopted by parents who were Virginia residents at the time of the adoption.
Delayed Birth Registration Certificate: A birth certificate established for an individual who birth certificate was not recorded at the time of birth.

Special Use Birth Certificate (Long Form): Very limited necessity. This type of request will experience increased processing times. An image copy of the Certificate of Live
Birth received from the hospital, birthing facilities or midwife. Commonly requested for Duel Citizenship applications and special genealogy needs.

Amendment Guidance

Most items (misspelling of the name of the registrant and/or parents, incorrect date and/or place of birth, incorrect ages of parents, incorrect sex of registrant, etc.) on a birth

certificate can be corrected either administratively or judicially. There are several provisions outlined in the Code of Virginia and the Regulations Governing Vital Records
detailing how a birth certificate can be amended. To properly advise, the Office of Vital Records must review the birth certificate and work cooperatively with the customer.

Who can initiate the
change

Needed Documents

Registrant (if legal age)
Adoptive Parents
Legal Representative

Final Order of Adoption and Report of Adoption form certified by the
Court that finalized the adoption. Application and/or written request,
$10 Administrative Fee, Certification Fee (512 per copy) and Requester's
ID.

Registrant (if legal age)
Adoptive Parents
Legal Representative

If the child was re-adopted in Virginia, a certified copy of the Report of
Adoption form is needed. If the child was not re-adopted in Virginia a
certified copy of the Foreign Adoption Order, a certified copy of the
translated Final Order of Adoption in English, Home Study report, copy
of the adopted child’s United States Passport that shows the Immigrant
Visa, proof of Virginia residency for the adoptive parent(s) at the time of
adoption. Application and/or written request, $10 Administrative Fee,
Certification Fee ($12 per copy) and Requester's ID.

Registrant (if legal age)
Immediate Family
Legal Representative

A written request detailing the item to be amended on the birth
certificate, $12 fee and requester's ID. The written request should also
include the name of the registrant and date and place of birth, parent
name as it appears on the birth certificate.

Registrant (if legal age)
Parents
Legal Representative

Changing Sex Designation (VS42) form completed by the health care
provider from whom the person received clinically appropriate treatment
for gender transition. Application and/or written request, $10
Administrative Fee, Certification Fee ($12 per copy) and Requester's ID.

Registrant (if legal age)
Parents
Legal Representative

Properly completed Acknowledgement of Paternity form. Application
and/or written request, $10 Administrative Fee, Certification Fee ($12
per copy) and Requester's ID.

Registrant (if legal age)
Parents
Legal Representative

Certified copy of the Virginia Order Determining Paternity. Application
and/or written request, $10 Administrative Fee, Certification Fee ($12
per copy) and Requester's ID.

Registrant (if legal age)
Parents
Legal Representative

Certified copy of the Genetic Test Results, Voluntary Consent Form
signed and notarized by father. Application and/or written request, $10
Administrative Fee, Certification Fee ($12 per copy) and Requester's ID.

Intended Parents
Legal Representative

Surrogacy Consent forms. Application and/or written request, $10
Administrative Fee, Certification Fee ($12 per copy) and Requester's ID.

Amendment
T m
Amendment Type Code Comments
EStib:;h"‘t?:: Zif:h - To establish a birth certificate for a Virginia
pos. " Sy born child that has been adopted.
certificate
s To establish a birth certificate for a child born
Establishment of . 2
o in a foreign country and adopted by parents
Certificate of CFB R 4 k
: " who were Virginia residents at the time of the
Foreign Birth .
adoption.
There are several provisions outlined in the
Aandi Code of Virginia and the Regulations
d g Governing Vital Records detailing how a birth
inaccuracies on a AMD L
birth certificate certificate can be amended. To properly
R eeica advise, the Office of Vital Records must
review the birth certificate.
Amending the gender on the birth certificate
Change of Gender coG for an individual whose gender has changed
based on clinically appropriate treatment.
The Acknowledge of Paternity form is used to
Paternity establish the paternity of a child born out-of-
Establishment - wedlock. If another father's name appears on
Acknowledgement AOP the birth certificate or the mother was married
of Paternity (AOP) at the time of the child's birth or 10 months
form prior to the child's birth, the paternity form
cannot be used.
Paternity The paternity of the child has been established
Establishment - by a Court in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Court coT Paternity orders granted by states other than
Determination of Virginia must be domesticated through a
Paternity Virginia court.
Paternity The child's paternity has been established
Establishment - DNA based on genetic test result (DNA). The
Genetic Test laboratory determining paternity must be an
Results (DNA) AABB approved laboratory.
Is an agreement between intended parents, a
surrogate, and her husband, if any, in which
the surrogate agrees to be impregnated
Surrogacy Contract SUR through the use of assisted conception, to
carry any resulting fetus, and to relinquish to
the intended parents the custody of and
parental rights to any resulting child.
Court Ordered Court order authorizing tﬁe Qﬁlce of Vl(al'
Jco Records to amend a specific item(s) on a vital
Changes
record.

Registrant (if legal age)
Immediate Family
Legal Representative

Requires a certified copy of the Court Order, Copy of the petition.
Application and/or written request, $10 Administrative Fee, Certification
Fee ($12 per copy) and Requester's ID.




