Commonwealth of Virginia

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400

Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485

DE R

(804) 367-2406 Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation

www.dpor.virginia.qov

Real Estate Board
PRE-LICENSE EDUCATION INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION APPLICATION

Fee $190.00
A check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA,
or a completed credit card insert must be mailed with your application package.
APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.
Select one of the following.
X | Certificate Type Trans
(] | Initial Instructor Application 1005
[ ] | Add new course to existing certificate 5005
1. Do you hold a valid Pre-License Education Instructor Certificate issued by Virginia Real Estate Board?
No [ ]
Yes [ ] Ifyes, provide your certificate number and expiration date below:
Certificate Number Expiration Date
2. Name
Last First Middle Generation
3. Provide one of the following identification numbers™:
(] Social Security Number ~ or [ Virginia DMV Control Number - -
% State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade, profession or occupation issued
by the Commonwealth to provide a social security number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.
4.  Date of Birth (Must be at least 18 years of age.)
MM/DD/YYYY
5. Mailing Address (PO Box accepted)
If a mailing address is submitted, the mailing
address will be printed on the license. oy St 7ip Code
6. Street Address (PO Box not accepted) [ ] Check here if Street Address is the same as the Mailing Address listed above.
PHYSICAL ADDRESS REQUIRED
City State Zip Code
7. Contact Numbers
Primary Telephone Alternate Telephone
8.  Email Address
Email address is considered a public record and will be disclosed upon request from a third party.
DATE FEE TRANS CODE ENTITY # FILE #/LICENSE # ISSUE DATE
OFFICE
USE
oNLY 0230
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9. Listall current and expired License(s) issued by the Virginia Real Estate Board.
License No. Type Status Expiration Date
10. Do you hold a current or expired real estate license, certification or registration issued by any other jurisdiction
(excluding Virginia)?
No [
Yes [ yes, complete the following table and attach an original ’Certification of Licensure/Letter of Good
Standing (dated within the last 60 days), from each jurisdiction.
State/Jurisdiction Type of L|cen§e, C_ert|f|cat|on L|cen§e, C_ert|f|cat|on or Expiration Date
or Registration Registration Number
+ Certifications of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing, prepared by the state board or regulatory body must include: 1) the license/
certification/registration number; 2) the initial date of licensure; 3) the expiration date of the license; and 4) all closed disciplinary
actions resulting in a violation or undetermined finding.
11.  Provide Employment History for the last five (5) years:
Name & Address of Employer Dates of Employment Specific Nature of Employment
(Table will expand) Start End
12. Which of the following real estate pre-license education courses are you seeking certification to instruct?
[ ] Salesperson - Principles of Real Estate [ | Broker - Real Estate Finance [ ] Broker - Real Estate Law
[] Broker - Real Estate Appraisal [] Broker - Real Estate Brokerage
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13.  Which of the following options qualify you as a Real Estate Board Certified Pre-License Education Instructor*?

] A. Qualification Option: (Select all that apply - a minimum of two qualifications is required)

O A baccalaureate degree, an active Virginia real estate broker's license, and two consecutive years of

O

discipline-free active real estate experience immediately prior to application;

Virginia License Number Expiration Date

Required Documentation: Attach an original college transcript.

An active Virginia real estate broker's license and five consecutive years of discipline-free active real
estate experience immediately prior to application;

Virginia License Number Expiration Date

A professional designation such as, but not limited to, Accredited Land Consultant (ALC), Certified
Residential Specialist (CRS), Certified Commercial Investment Member (CCIM), Certified Property
Manager (CPM), Certified Residential Broker (CRB), Counselor Real Estate (CRE), Member Appraisal
Institute (MAI), Society Industrial Office Realtors (SIOR), Senior Residential Appraiser (SRA), or Senior
Real Estate Property Appraiser (SRPA);

Required Documentation; Attach a copy of your designation.

A fully designated member of the Real Estate Educators Association holding the Designated Real Estate
Instructor (DREI) designation;
Required Documentation: Attach a copy of your designation.

Possession of a valid teaching credential or certificate issued by the Commonwealth of Virginia, or any
other state with qualifications that are equal to or exceed Virginia teacher qualifications, or at least five
years of teaching experience in an accredited public, private, or parochial school, or an accredited junior
college, college, or university;

Required Documentation: Attach a copy of your valid teaching credential/certificate or evidence of at least five
years of teaching experience.

An attorney member of the Virginia State Bar who is engaged in the field of real estate-related law.
Required Documentation:  Attach a copy of your Virginia State Bar membership and evidence that you are
engaged in the field of real estate-related law.

[ ] B. Waiver Option:

O

The board may waive the requirements listed in Option A (Qualification Option) upon review of proof of
expertise in the real estate courses you are seeking certification.

Required Documentation: ~Attach proof of your expertise including, but not limited to, educational transcript,
professional certificates and letters of reference (a maximum of three).

* The board shall also consider evaluations from previous education courses the applicant has instructed and
recommendations of course providers, coordinators, administrators, and institutions that have employed the applicant.

14.  Have you ever been subject to a disciplinary action taken by any (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory

body?
No

A490-0230INSTR-v5
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U]
Yes []

If yes, provide a certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency
with lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case decision.
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15. |, the undersigned, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true, and | have not suppressed any
information that might affect the Board's decision to approve this application. | certify that I will notify the Department if |
am subject to any disciplinary action (in any jurisdiction) prior to approval of this application. | certify that | have read,
understood and complied with all the laws of Virginia under the provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 21, of the Code of
Virginia and the Real Estate Board Regulations.

Signature Date
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