

Perimeter Center 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Henrico, VA 23233-1463

Email: socialwork@dhp.virginia.gov

Phone: (804) 367-4441 E-Fax: (804) 977-9915

Website: www.dhp.virginia.gov/social

## REQUEST FOR CHANGE IN STATUS OF VIRGINIA SOCIAL WORK LICENSE (Current Inactive to Current Active)

#### **IMPORTANT NOTICE:**

A social worker wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit the difference between the renewal fee for active licensure and the fee for inactive licensure renewal and document completion of continued competency hours equal to the number of years the license has been inactive, not to exceed four years.

An applicant for reactivation who has been inactive for ten (10) or more years shall also provide evidence of competency to practice by documenting:

- 1. Active practice in another U.S. jurisdiction for at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately preceding application;
- 2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately preceding application; or
- 3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 360 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding licensure in Virginia. The supervised practice shall include a minimum of 60 hours of face-face direct client contact and 9 hours of face-to-face supervision.

REOUIRED DOCUMENTATIO	
	v

REQUI	IRED DOCUMENTATION
	the enclosed status change request form and supporting documentation in <b>one</b> package to the address indicated above. Please this checklist to make certain that <u>all</u> the required documents are submitted.
	Request for Active Status Form
	<u>Fee:</u> the following fee must be paid:
•	Licensed Baccalaureate Social Workers (LBSW) will be required to submit a \$27.50 fee, which must be paid by check or money order made payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia". This fee is non-refundable.
•	Licensed Master's Social Workers (LMSW) will be required to submit a \$32.50 fee, which must be paid by check or money order made payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia". This fee is non-refundable.
•	Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW) will be required to submit \$45.00 fee which must be paid by check or money order made payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia". This fee is non-refundable.
	Continuing Education (CE) Certificates:
•	Licensed Baccalaureate Social Workers and Licensed Master's Social Workers (LBSW & LMSW) are required to have completed a minimum of 7.5 contact hours of continuing education for each year the license was lapsed, not to exceed four years. A minimum of 1.5 of those hours must pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or to laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia.
•	Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW) are required to have completed a minimum of 15 contact hours of continuing

education for each year the license was lapsed, not to exceed four years. A minimum of 3 of those hours must pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or to laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia.

Please refer to 18VAC140-20-105 of the Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work for a list of board-approved activities.

ADDITIONAL SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION (I	if applicable)

### **Inactive more than ten (10) years:**

To validate your active post-licensure practice as a LBSW, LMSW, or LCSW, the enclosed Verification of Active Practice/Supervision form should be completed by your employer, colleague, peer or a licensed practitioner who can attest to your post-licensure active practice in another U.S. jurisdiction or exempt setting in Virginia for at least 24 out of the past 60 months. If you have had several jobs, please submit multiple verification forms equaling to a minimum of 24 months.



Perimeter Center 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Henrico, VA 23233-1463 Email: socialwork@dhp.virginia.gov

Phone: (804) 367-4441 E-Fax: (804) 977-9915

Website: www.dhp.virginia.gov/social

# REQUEST FOR CHANGE IN STATUS OF VIRGINIA SOCIAL WORK LICENSE (Current Inactive to Current Active)

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY (Finance Division)

Fee	e Amount Paid \$	Applicant ID #	Rec	ceipt #	Date Pr	ocessed
		TO BE COMPLE	TED BY APPL	ICANT		
Part I. Appli	icant Identification & Con					
Applicant's I		First Name:		Middle/Maid	en Name:	Suffix:
Last 4 digits	of Social Security Number:		Date of Birth: (	MM/DD/YYYY)		<u> </u>
	XXX-XX			/	_ /	
Mailing Add			<b>.</b>			
City:			State:		Zip Code:	
Home Numb			Alternate Num	ber:		
(		·	(	)		
Email Addres	ss:		1			
Social Work	License Number:					
				-		
	tinued Competency Requi	rements: (Check the boxe	es that apply to you)			
LBSWs & L	<u>MSWs</u>					
	am attesting to the complet year). I have submitted copi				ch total CE	nours (7.5 hours
	e you been inactive for more Yes   No	e than four years?				
LCSWs						
	am attesting to the complet year). I have submitted copi			years, whi	ch total CE	nours (15 hours
	•	•	aruation.			
B. Hav	e you been inactive for more Yes   No	e than four years?				
	ıbmit a request for chan					
	es that I understand that p				lead to disciplina	ry action by
me virginia	Board of Social Work and	i i unuerstand that my i	lee is non-retundar	ne.		
	<del></del>					_
Signature of	Licensee			Date		



Perimeter Center 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Henrico, VA 23233-1463 Email: socialwork@dhp.virginia.gov

Phone: (804) 367-4441 E-Fax: (804) 977-9915

Website: www.dhp.virginia.gov/social

## **VERIFICATION OF ACTIVE PRACTICE/SUPERVISION**

### **IMPORTANT NOTICE:**

An applicant for reactivation who has been inactive for ten (10) or more years should complete the top portion of this form <u>only</u>, then provide this form to the professional reference who can verify your post-licensure active practice. The completed form containing the original signatures, should be returned to the applicant for inclusion in their packet that must be mailed to the Virginia Board of Social Work.

TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT	Γ:							
I,								
Signature of Applicant Date								
TO BE COMPLETED BY REFERENCE	E:							
Last Name of Reference:								
Type of License Held:  License Number:								
Address of Reference:								
City:         Zip Code:								
Phone Number: Email Address:								
()								
Relationship to Applicant:								
I, (printed legal name of reference), declare under perjury under the laws of the								
Commonwealth of Virginia that (printed name of applicant), candidate for								
reactivation of licensure in the Commonwea	alth of Virginia, was i	n active post	-licensure	e practice (select one option)				
in another United States jurisdiction for	r at least (24) out of the	ne past (60) r	nonths im	mediately preceding application;				
in an exempt setting for at least (24) out	t of the past (60) mont	ths immediat	ely preced	ding application;				
at(name of location)								
				(street addr	ess of location)			
	(City)	)		(State)	(Zip Code)			
from	(Start Date: MM/DD/YYY			(End Date: MM/DI	)/YYYY).			
Signature of Reference			Date					