

Email: <u>socialwork@dhp.virginia.gov</u> Phone: (804) 367-4441 E-Fax: (804) 977-9915 Website: www.dhp.virginia.gov/social

# **REQUEST FOR LATE RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS**

### **IMPORTANT NOTICE:**

- A LBSW, LMSW, or LCSW whose Virginia license has expired may renew that license within one year after its expiration date by:
- 1. Providing evidence of having met all applicable continuing education requirements; and
- 2. Paying the penalty for late renewal and the renewal fee as prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30.

#### **REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION**

Submit the enclosed request for late renewal form and supporting documentation in **one** package to the address indicated above. Please review this checklist to make certain that **all** the required documents are submitted.



**<u>Fee:</u>** the following fee must be paid:

- Licensed Baccalaureate Social Workers (LBSW) will be required to submit a \$55.00 fee, plus a \$20.00 late fee which must be paid by check or money order made payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia". This fee is non-refundable.
- Licensed Master's Social Workers (LMSW) will be required to submit a \$65.00 fee, plus a \$20.00 late fee which must be paid by check or money order made payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia". This fee is non-refundable.
- Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW) will be required to submit **\$90.00** fee plus a **\$30.00** late fee which must be paid by check or money order made payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia". This fee is non-refundable.

#### **Continuing Education (CE) Certificates:**

- Licensed Baccalaureate Social Workers and Licensed Master's Social Workers (LBSW & LMSW) are required to have completed a minimum of (15) contact hours of continuing education. A minimum of (3) of those hours must pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or to laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia.
- Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW) are required to have completed a minimum of (30) contact hours of continuing education. A minimum of (6) of those hours must pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or to laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia.

Please refer to 18VAC140-20-105 of the <u>Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work</u> for a list of board-approved activities.

Please refer to18VAC140-20-106 of the <u>Regulations</u> for information on documenting compliance with the CE requirements.

End of instructions



Virginia Department of Perimeter **Health Professions** Perimeter 9960 May Henrico, V

Perimeter Center 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Henrico, VA 23233-1463 Email: socialwork@dhp.virginia.gov Phone: (804) 367-4441 E-Fax: (804) 977-9915 Website: www.dhp.virginia.gov/social

## **REQUEST FOR LATE RENEWAL**

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY (Finance Division)							
Fee Amount Paid	<b>Applicant ID</b> #	Receipt #	Date Processed				
\$							

TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT								
Part I. Applicant Identification & Contact I	nformation							
Applicant's Last Name:	First Name:		Middle/Maiden Nan	ne:	Suffix:			
Last 4 digits of Social Security Number:		Date of Birth: (MM/DD/YYYY)						
XXX-XX		/ /						
Mailing Address:								
City:	S	State:		Zip Code:				
Home Number:		Alternate Number:						
()		(	)					
Email Address:								
Social Work License Number:								
Part II. Continued Competency Requirement	nts: (Check box that a	pplies to you)						
LBSWs & LMSWs								
I have missed <i>only one</i> renewal and I am a								
education prescribed in <b>18VAC 140-20-105</b> of have submitted copies of my CE hours for eval		ions Governing the I	Practice of Social Wor	k for this renewal	period. I			
1 V	uation.							
LCSWs								
I have missed <i>only one</i> renewal and I am a	ttesting to the complet	ion of the required r	ninimum of ( <b>30</b> ) conta	act hours of contir	nuing			
education prescribed in 18VAC 140-20-105 or	the Virginia Regulati							
have submitted copies of my CE hours for eval	uation.							

I hereby submit a request for late renewal of my Virginia license number referenced on this form. My signature acknowledges that I understand that providing false or misleading information on this form may lead to disciplinary action by the Virginia Board of Social Work and I understand that my fee is non-refundable.

Signature of Licensee

Date