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Instructions for Reinstating an Expired Registration to 
Practice as an EQUINE DENTAL TECHNICIAN in Virginia

READ THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION CAREFULLY BEFORE PROCEEDING

Laws and Regulations: Application requires an attestation to having read the applicable laws and regulations.

· Application processing and documentation: Applicant is responsible for providing required documents to the board office by email, fax or postal mail. An optional form for licensure, registration or certification verification is available, if needed. Allow approximately 21 business days for processing. An initial email will be sent acknowledging receipt of application and notification of missing documentation. For issues related to the application, send email to vetbd@dhp.virginia.gov.

· Application and Fee: Application and fee must be submitted together by mail. An application fee of $120.00 is required; make check or money order payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia.” All fees are nonrefundable.

Application payment receipt: A receipt may be requested by email to vetbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Reinstated license expiration dates: A registration expires on December 31 of the same year in which the registration is reinstated. 

Board Communication: The Board’s method of communication to applicants is via email. 


REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION: 
· Continuing education hours related to equine dentistry equal to the number of years in which the registration has been expired, for a maximum of two years. If expired one year provide at least 6 hours and if expired two years at least 12 hours.
· Verification of any licenses, registrations or certifications ever held related to equine dentistry, including expired, in another U.S. jurisdiction. (NOTE: Staff will obtain licensure verification from the jurisdictions that provide online primary source verification that includes disciplinary history. An applicant is responsible for requesting license verifications from jurisdictions that do not have an online verification system. The other jurisdiction is required to send the verification directly to the Board preferably via email at vetbd@dhp.virginia.gov.)
· Submission of application and reinstatement fee of $120.00.



















Application for Reinstatement of an Expired Virginia Registration
Equine Dental Technician 
Full Name (Please Print or Type)
	Last:
	First:
	Middle Initial:

	
	
	

	Have you ever been known by any other name? Yes  |_|  No  |_|  If yes, state in full every name by which you have been known. If the name stated above does not match name on required documentation, a copy of legal name change (i.e. marriage license or divorce) is required.

	Other names:

	Public Address for Disclosure:
	City:
	State:
	Zip Code:
	Telephone Number:

	
	
	
	
	

	Address of Record: (Mailing Address)
	City:
	State:
	 Zip Code:
	Telephone Number:

	
	
	
	
	

	ADDRESS: Virginia law allows persons regulated by boards within the Department of Health Professions to provide an alternative address for public disclosure if they want their address of record to remain confidential, used only for agency purposes.  Health professionals may choose to provide a work address, a post office box, or a home address as the public address. If an alternative public address is not provided, the address of record will also be used as the public address and may be disclosed if specifically requested. Addresses of individuals are not posted on the “License Lookup” program available through the board's website. 

	*Social Security No. or Virginia DMV Control No.:
	Date of Birth: (mm/dd/yyyy)
	Email Address:   Public |_|           Private |_|

	
	
	

	Are you active-duty military?
	YES
  |_|
	NO
|_|

	Are you the spouse of a member of the U.S. military who has been transferred to Virginia and who had to leave employment to accompany your spouse to Virginia?
	YES
  |_|
	NO
|_|

	Are you relocating to Virginia or an adjoining state or the District of Columbia with a spouse who is: 
1) On federal active duty orders; or 
2) A veteran who has left active duty service within one year of submission of this application?
	

YES |_|
YES |_|
	

NO |_|
NO |_|


*In accordance with 54.1-116 Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your control number** issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not be refunded. This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law. Federal and state law requires that this number be shared with other state agencies for child support enforcement activities. In order to obtain a Virginia driver’s license control number, it is necessary to appear in person at an office of the Department of Motor Vehicles in Virginia.  A fee and disclosure to DMV of your Social Security Number will be required to obtain this number.



APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE – FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

ORIGINAL ISSUE DATE: ________________________ EXPIRATION DATE: _______________________

	APPLICANT #
	FEE
	RECEIPT #
	APPROVAL/DATE
	LICENSE #
	REINSTATE DATE





	Have you actively been engaged in practice as an equine dental technician prior to seeking reinstatement of registration in Virginia?
	YES
 |_|
	 NO
 |_|

	List all professional practice since registration expired. 

	
Began Date
mm/dd/yyyy
	
End Date
mm/dd/yyyy
	
Name of Practice/City/State/Phone
	
Type of Practice
(Private or Public Sector)

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	

	List all jurisdictions in which you have ever been issued a professional license, registration or certification including expired, to practice as an equine dental technician. If more space is required, please record on separate paper.

	Jurisdiction
	License #
	Issue Date
(mm/dd/yyyy)
	Years of Practice
	License Status (active/expired/inactive/revoked/suspended)

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	



LICENSURE QUESTIONS
ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED
	Have you ever been denied a license, registration, or certification to practice as an equine dental technician? 

If yes, please provide a full explanation that includes the type of license, the jurisdiction and the date of denial and submit notices, orders, etc., from the regulatory authority authorized to take such actions?

	
YES
 |_|
	
NO
|_|

	Have you ever had any of the following disciplinary actions taken against your license, certification, or registration in another jurisdiction to practice as an equine dental technician? (a) suspension (b) revocation (c) probation (d) reprimand (e) had your practice monitored (e) monetary penalty?

If yes, submit notices, orders, etc. from the regulatory authority authorized to take such actions.

	
YES
 |_|
	
NO
|_|

	Have you ever been convicted of a violation of/or pled Nolo Contendere to any federal, state, or local statute, regulation, or ordinance, or entered into any plea bargaining relating to a felony or misdemeanor? Including convictions for driving under the influence; excluding traffic violations. Additionally, any information concerning an arrest, charge, or conviction that has been sealed, including arrests, charges, or convictions for possession of marijuana, does not have to be disclosed.

Attach your original criminal history record, a certified copy of any final order, decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and any other information you wish to be considered with your application (i.e., information on the status of incarceration, parole, or probation, reference letters documentation of rehabilitation, etc.).

	
YES
 |_|
	
NO
|_|

	Do you have any reason to believe that you would pose a risk to the safety or well-being of your patients or clients? 

If yes, please provide a full explanation. Note: The Board may ask for additional documentation.

	
YES
 |_|
	
NO
|_|

	Are you able to perform the essential functions of a practitioner in your area of practice with or without reasonable accommodation?

If no, please provide a full explanation. Note: The Board may ask for additional documentation.

	
YES
 |_|
	
NO
|_|

	Within the past five years have you exhibited any conduct or behavior that could call into question your ability to practice in a competent and professional manner?

Please provide a full explanation on a separate page.

	
YES
 |_|
	
NO
|_|

	Within the past 5 years, have you been disciplined by any entity?

Please provide a full explanation and any associated orders or letter from the entity.

	
YES
 |_|
	
NO
|_|

	Within the past five years, have any conditions or restrictions been imposed on you or your practice to avoid disciplinary action by any entity?

If yes, please provide a full explanation and any associated orders or letters from the entity. (Note: The Board may request a copy of a current participation contract and summary of compliance and/or documentation of successful completion. You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have the program send this documentation directly to the Board.)
	
YES
 |_|
	
NO
|_|



	AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT
	
I have carefully read all applicable laws and regulations related to the practice by an equine dental technician. I hereby agree to abide by and remain current with the applicable laws and regulations which are available on the Board’s website. 

I certify by entering my signature below: I am the person applying for licensure/certification/registration and meet the qualifications required by Virginia law and regulations. Further, I certify the information provided in this application has been personally provided and reviewed by me, and that statements made on the application are true and complete. I understand that providing false or misleading information, as well as omitting information, in response to information requested in this application or as part of the application process are considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for denial of or taking disciplinary action against an existing license/certificate/registration.





______________________________________________
Signature of Applicant







	Revised: 03/2023
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