Commonwealth of Virginia
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400
Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485
(804) 367-8511
www.dpor.virginia.gov



BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS CONTRACTOR LICENSING INFORMATION

CONTRACTOR LICENSES ARE ISSUED TO <u>BUSINESS ENTITIES</u> (regardless of the number of people employed by the business) AND <u>NOT INDIVIDUALS</u>.

Before completing the application, please review the *Board for Contractors Regulations*. This booklet includes the current statues or laws (Title 54.1, Chapter 11 of the *Code of Virginia*) and the regulations of the Board for Contractors. Eligibility for a contractor's license is based on the knowledge, skills, abilities, financial position, and other entry requirements set forth in §54.1-1106, §54.1-1108 and §54.1-1108.2 (subject to the exemptions in §54.1-1101) of the *Code of Virginia*. Please note that although a Virginia contractor's license may be granted to your business, the business must <u>also</u> comply with *local* licensing requirements set forth by the localities (cities, towns, and counties) in which your business plans to do work, contact your local Commissioner of the Revenue and Building Official for more information.

Licensure

Contractor licenses consist of two parts, the class of the license, which determines what, if any restrictions are placed on the size of contracts/projects that may be performed and the classification/specialty, which determines what type of work the licensed contractor is allowed to perform.

The Board for Contractors issues licenses in one of three classes: **Class A**, **Class B** and **Class C**. In most cases, the type of license you should apply for is based on the <u>value</u> or <u>contract price</u> of the projects your business will be bidding on or engaged in (see the **Note** below for specific exceptions). Please read the following definitions before deciding which contractor license is suitable for your business.

Class A contractors perform or manage construction, removal, repair, or improvements when (i) the total value referred to in a single contract or project is \$150,000 or more, or (ii) the total value of all such construction, removal, repair, or improvements undertaken by such person within any twelve-month period is \$1 million or more.

Class B contractors perform or manage construction, removal, repair, or improvements when (i) the total value referred to in a single contract or project is \$30,000 or more, but less than \$150,000, or (ii) the total value of all such construction, removal, repair, or improvements undertaken by such person within any twelve-month period is \$250,000 or more, but less than \$1 million.

Class C contractors perform or manage construction, removal, repair, or improvements when (i) the total value referred to in a single contract or project is over \$1,000 but less than \$30,000, or (ii) the total value of all such construction, removal, repair, or improvements undertaken by such person within any twelve-month period is no more than \$250,000.

Note: Landscape Irrigation and Water Well contractors must be licensed as a **Class A**, **Class B** or **Class C** contractor regardless of the dollar amount of the project or contract.

The classification or specialty (not to be confused with the license class) defines the scope of practice that may be performed by the licensed contractor. You may find a list of all of the different classifications and specialties issued by the

Board for Contractors and a definition of the work that is permitted to be performed by each, in 18VAC50-22-20 and 18VAC50-22-30 of the Board for Contractors Regulations. It is important to choose the classification or specialty for your license carefully as if you perform work outside of the scope of practice for your license, you may be subject to disciplinary action by the board.

Temporary Licensure

A temporary license is a 45 day license that cannot be renewed, reinstated or reapplied for. This license will allow firms to have 45 days to complete all entry requirements for a permanent contractor license. To qualify for a temporary license, a firm must hold a comparable license or certificate in another state. The license must be in good standing and the applicant must provide a Certification/Letter of Good Standing, with their application, from the state where they hold a current license. The cost for the temporary license is \$50. In order to obtain a temporary license, the applicant must submit its application for temporary licensure simultaneously with its application for permanent licensure and pay both application fees.

Pre-License Education

Effective August 21, 2006, the Designated Employee or a member of Responsible Management of all contractors applying for licensure for an entity that is not currently licensed must successfully complete an eight hour business class approved by the Board for Contractors.

You must request that the class provider electronically submit proof of completion to the Board. This submission will identify the course, course provider, date of completion and the name of the individual who took the class.

A list of approved classes is available on our website at www.dpor.virginia.gov. Just click on "Boards" on the left-hand side of the homepage, then scroll down and click on "Contractors." You may also request a copy of the list from the board's licensing staff by calling (804) 367-8511

Designated Employee Examination Requirement

All business entities seeking a **Class A** or a **Class B** license <u>must</u> declare a Designated Employee who (1) is a full-time employee or one of the business' Responsible Managers (see Part I of the Board for Contractors Rules and Regulations); (2) is at least 18 years of age; and (3) has successfully completed the examination requirements.

The Designated Employee examination tests the candidate's general business knowledge, and their knowledge of the laws and regulations governing contractors.

If your business does not yet have a Designated Employee who has passed the licensure exam, contact:

PSI Examination Services Telephone: 1-800-733-9267 Facsimile: 702-932-2666

Web Address: www.psiexams.com

The **Class B** licensure examination is a two-part exam comprised of a Virginia Section (to test the candidate's knowledge of Virginia's laws and regulations governing contractors) and a General Section (to test the candidate's general administrative and business knowledge). The **Class A** licensure examination is a three-part exam consisting of the Virginia and General Sections (contained in the Class B exam), as well as, an Advanced Section which tests the candidate's general administrative and business knowledge necessary to engage in **Class A** contracting.

Qualified Individual Requirements

All business entities must have a Qualified Individual for each of the classifications and specialties listed on their application. The Qualified Individual is the person that has the appropriate amount of experience in the classification or specialty being applied for on the application. A person may be the Qualified Individual for more than one classification or specialty. This individual must be either a full-time employee or a member of Responsible Management of the business applying for the license and

A501-27INTRO-v7 Board for Contractors/INTRO 07/01/2025 Page 2 of 3

must have a minimum amount of work experience within the scope of practice of their specialty. Qualified Individuals for Class A applicants must have a minimum of five years' experience, three years' experience for Class B and one year of experience for Class C. Some Qualified Individuals must hold additional licenses or certifications in order to meet the current eligibility requirements. These classifications and specialties are identified on the application and in the following table:

Classification/Specialty	Qualified Individual Requirement
Asbestos (ASB)	Valid supervisors license from ALHI Board
Accessibility Services (ASC)	Valid Accessibility Mechanic Certification
Accessibility Services with LULA (ASL)	Valid Accessibility Mechanic Certification with LULA
Alternative Disposal System (ADS)	Valid Master Alternative Onsite Sewage System Installer License
Blast/Explosive (BEC)	Valid blaster certification from State Fire Marshal Office
Conventional Disposal System (CDS)	Valid Master Conventional or Master Alternative Onsite Sewage System License
Electrical (ELE)	Valid Master ELE Tradesman License
Elevator/Escalator (EEC)	Valid Elevator Mechanic Certification
Fire Sprinkler (SPR)	Valid NICET III certification
Gas Fitting (GFC)	Valid Master Gas-Fitter Tradesman License
HVAC (HVA)	Valid Master HVAC Tradesman License
Lead Abatement (LAC)	Valid supervisors license from ALHI Board
Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG)	Valid Master LPG Tradesman License
Manufactured Home Contracting (MHC)	Valid Manufactured Housing Installer Certification from Department of Housing and Community Development
Natural Gas Fitting Provider (NGF)	Valid Master Natural Gas Fitter Tradesman License
Plumbing (PLB)	Valid Master Plumbing Tradesman License
Radon Mitigation (RMC)	Valid EPA, NRMPP, NEHA or NRSFB certification
Water/Well Pump (WWP)	Valid Master Water Well Systems Provider Certification

Note: All other specialties require the Qualified Individual to successfully complete a board approved technical examination. All Qualified Individuals must be pre-approved to take the required examination. Contact the Virginia Board for Contractors at 804-367-8511 or email at *contractor@dpor.virginia.gov* for information regarding pre-approval.

<u>Fees</u>

Please make checks or money orders payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia." Deposit of any fees by the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation does not indicate that your application will be approved. Fees are valid for one year from the date they are received and are not refunded if a license is not issued.

Other Important Information

- 1. The Code of Virginia (§54.1-111(6)) makes it unlawful to materially misrepresent facts in an application for licensure, certification, or registration. Violations of this section are subject to criminal prosecution, which could result in a conviction with a sentence of up to one year in jail and/or a maximum fine of \$2,500.
- 2. Original contractor's licenses expire **two years** from the month in which it was issued.
- 3. The Code of Virginia (§59.1-69) requires that fictitious names or trade names be registered in Virginia, even for sole proprietorships, with either the State Corporation Commission or the Circuit Court of the locality within which the company expects to do business.
- 4. Licensed contractor businesses are responsible for the proper maintenance of its license. See Part V. Standard of Practice and Conduct of the *Board for Contractors Regulations* for specific requirements. The following changes require license maintenance:
 - Any change from the currently licensed business entity to a new business entity that would require a new license;
 - Any change in Responsible Management:
 - Change of Designated Employee;
 - Change of any Qualified Individual(s);
 - Change of business/trade name;
 - Change of street and/or mailing address; and
 - Deletion or addition of a license classification or a specialty designation.