9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300

Virginia Department of Henrico, Virginia 23233
- : (804) 367-4538 (Tel)
~ Health Professions (804) 608.4266 (6Fax)
Board of Dentistry denbd@dhp.virginia.gov

www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry

INSTRUCTIONS FOR RESTRICTED VOLUNTEER DENTAL LICENSE

A completed application shall include the following unless otherwise stated below. An incomplete application and/or fee
will delay the processing of your application. Incomplete applications remain active for one year from the date of receipt.
After one year from date of receipt, you would need to reapply for Virginia licensure. Documents submitted with an
application are the property of the Board of Dentistry and cannot be returned.

1. Application: Please be sure that all information and questions are completed on the application.

2. Application Fee: The fee for a restricted volunteer dental license is $25 and must be paid with a check
or money order, made payable to The Treasurer of Virginia. The fee can be used for one year from date of
receipt. Pursuant to 18VAC60-21-40(G), all fees are non-refundable. Your application will not be reviewed
until you have submitted payment.

3. Form A Certification of Dental Supervisor and Location: The applicant shall specify whether supervision
is required, and if not, the date by which it will be required. Certification must be provided by the supervising
dentist indicating he/she will review the quality of care rendered by the dentist with the restricted volunteer
license at least every thirty days pursuant to 18VAC60-21-230.E(3).

4. Form B Chronology: List ALL activities, personal and professional, to include all time periods of
employment and unemployment, since receiving your doctoral degree or post-doctoral advanced
certification. (Resumes and curriculum vitae are not accepted as substitutes for completing the chronological
listing on Form B and will not be considered.) (Form B may be email/fax/mail to the Board.)

5. Form C License Verification: Original licensure status and certification from every jurisdiction in which you
currently hold or have ever held a license/registration/certification to practice as a dentist or as another health
care professional. Copies of permits are not accepted. Certifications cannot be older than 6 months from date
prepared. (May be mail to the Board or emailed to the Board directly from the issuing state official
representative. If the issuing state/jurisdiction (agency) does not provide an original document then the
applicant must provide/submit the issuing agency statement as to why the issuing agency does not provide
verification and submit a copy of the electronic version from the issuing agency website to the Board.)

6. NPDB: An original current report, not older than 6 months from date prepared, must be obtained by Self
Query from the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB), which may be requested through their website at
www.npdb.hrsa.gov. There is a fee for this report. This report from NPDB is required from all applicants,
without exception (Regulation 18VAC60-21-190.3). (Must be mail & received at the Board in its original
sealed envelope.)

7. Please be aware that your signed application affidavit authorizes the release of confidential information,
affirms that your application is complete and correct, and attests that you have read, understand, and will
remain current with the laws and regulations governing the practice of dentistry in Virginia. Review the laws
and regulations via the “Laws and Regulations” tab at www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry.

8. Name Change: Documentation must be provided to show each name change, if your name has ever been
changed since graduation from a CODA or CDAC accredited program or were licensed in other jurisdictions
or other than what is listed on your application. Photocopies of marriage licenses or court orders are
accepted.

9. Address of Record and Publically Disclosable Address: Consistent with Virginia law §54.1.2400.02 and
the mission of the Department of Health Professions, addresses of licensees are made available to the
public. Normally, the Address of Record is the publically disclosable address. If you do not want your
Address of Record to be made public, state law allows you to provide a second, publically disclosable
address. Typically, this other address is the work or practice address. If you would like for your Address of
Record to be made available to the public, complete both sections with the same address.
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NOTES:

» A person holding a restricted volunteer dental license shall only practice in a public health or

community free clinic that provides dental services to populations of undeserved people and only treat
patients who have been screened by the approved clinic and are eligible for treatment.

Completed applications cannot be accessed or edited once they have been submitted.

If your Virginia License is not issued within 6 months of the date of the NPDB (National Practitioner Databank)
Self Query Report and certification of state licensure, you will be asked to submit a current NPDB Self Query
Report and current state licensure certification before your application can be reviewed.

DEA Registration: Applicants must have a dental license prior to applying for a DEA License. Requests for an
application in Virginia should be made to the following: Drug Enforcement Administration, Attn: Registration
Section/ODR, P.O. Box 2639, Springfield, VA 22152-2639; 1-800-882-9539; www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov

To receive notice that your supporting documents have been delivered to the board, it is suggested that the
documents be mailed by Fed-Ex or UPS with “Delivery Confirmation”.

Applicants will be notified of missing application items within approximately 15 business days of receipt of an
application. Once your application is complete, allow 30 business days processing time.

Pursuant to Regulation 18VAC60-21-230.E. Qualifications for a restricted license.
Restricted volunteer license.

1.

In accordance with § 54.1-2712.1 of the Code, the board may issue a restricted volunteer license to a dentist who:

a. Held an unrestricted license in Virginia or another U.S. jurisdiction as a licensee in good standing at the time the license
expired or became inactive;

b. Is volunteering for a public health or community free clinic that provides dental services to populations of underserved
people;

c. Has fulfilled the board's requirement related to knowledge of the laws and regulations governing the practice of dentistry
in Virginia;

d. Has not failed a clinical examination within the past five years; and

e. Has had at least five years of clinical practice.

A person holding a restricted volunteer license under this section shall:

a. Only practice in public health or community free clinics that provide dental services to underserved populations;

b. Only treat patients who have been screened by the approved clinic and are eligible for treatment;

c. Attest on a form provided by the board that he will not receive remuneration directly or indirectly for providing dental
services; and

d. Not be required to complete continuing education in order to renew such a license.

The restricted volunteer license shall specify whether supervision is required, and if not, the date by which it will be required.

If a dentist with a restricted volunteer license issued under this section has not held an active, unrestricted license and been

engaged in active practice within the past five years, he shall only practice dentistry and perform dental procedures if a

dentist with an unrestricted Virginia license, volunteering at the clinic, reviews the quality of care rendered by the dentist with

the restricted volunteer license at least every 30 days. If supervision is required, the supervising dentist shall directly

observe patient care being provided by the restricted volunteer dentist and review all patient charts at least quarterly. Such

supervision shall be noted in patient charts and maintained in accordance with 18VAC60-21-90.

A restricted volunteer license granted pursuant to this section shall expire on June 30 of the second year after its issuance

or shall terminate when the supervising dentist withdraws his sponsorship.

A dentist holding a restricted volunteer license issued pursuant to this section is subject to the provisions of this chapter and

the disciplinary regulations that apply to all licensees practicing in Virginia.
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APPLICATION FOR RESTRICTED VOLUNTEER DENTAL LICENSE Page 1

INSTRUCTIONS: Type or print clearly. Complete all sections. If the space provided for any answer is insufficient,
complete your answer on a separate page, specify the number of the question to which it relates, sign the page and
enclose it with the application.

|l. GENERAL INFORMATION: COMPLETE ALL SECTIONS (PRINT OR TYPE)

Name: Last* First Middle/Maiden Suffix

Address of record (Mailing Address) City State Zip Telephone Number
Code

Publically Disclosable Address City State Zip Telephone Number
Code

Email Address Fax#

Date of Birth Social Security Number or Virginia DMV control Number**

/ / - --
Month Day Year

DDS/DMD GRADUATION DATE | PROFESSIONAL DEGREE | CODA/CDAC APPROVED DENTAL SCHOOL/CITY/STATE

Month Day Year

RESIDENCY/SPECIALTY RESIDENCY/SPECIALTY | CODA/CDAC APPROVED DENTAL SCHOOL/CITY/STATE
GRADUATION DATE DEGREE or CERTIFICATE

Month Day Year

APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE — FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

DATE RECEIVED CERTIFICATION (SUPERVISOR) (FORM A) CHRONOLOGY (FORM B)

CERTIFICATION (LICENSE FROM OTHER STATES) (FORM C OR LETTER) | NATIONAL PRACTITIONER DATA BANK

*Name change: Documentation must be provided to show name change(s) if name has ever been changed from the time you
attended school or while you were licensed in other jurisdictions.

**In accordance with § 54.1-116 of the Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your
control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. If you fail to do so, the processing of your application
will be suspended and fees will not be refunded. This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for
identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law. Federal and state law requires that
this number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities.

FEE AMOUNT APPLICANT # RESTRICTED VOLUNTEER LICENSE # DATE ISSUED
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RESTRICTED VOLUNTEER DENTAL LICENSE Application Page 2

Il. APPLICANT HISTORY: ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED.

If any of the following questions are answered “YES”, explain and substantiate with documentation.
Letters must be submitted by your attorney regarding malpractice suits. Letters must be submitted by
any treating professionals regarding health treatment and shall include diagnosis, treatment and
prognosis.

1.

B

Are you relocating to Virginia or an adjoining state or the District of Columbia with a spouse who is 1)
on federal active duty orders, or 2) a veteran who has left active duty service within one year of
submission of this application? If “YES”, include a copy of the official military orders with the
application.

Are you active-duty military? If “YES”, include a copy of your official military orders with the
application.

[ 1Yes [ ]No

[ 1Yes [ ]No

List in chronological order including months and years, the dental school(s) attended (include specialty and advanced

programs):

Months & Years Name of Dental School (ADA-CODA) Passed/Failed

to

to

to

List all jurisdictions in which you currently hold or have ever held a license/registration/certification to practice as a dentist

or as another health care professional.

Jurisdiction Number Type Date Issued Exp. Date

Have you ever been denied a license, or the privilege of taking a dental licensure/competency
examination by a licensing authority? If “YES”, give detail(s), jurisdiction(s) and date(s).

Have you ever been convicted of a violation or plead Nolo Contendere, to any federal, state or local
statute, regulations or ordinance, or entered into any plea bargaining relating to a felony or
misdemeanor? (Excluding traffic violations, except convictions for driving under the influence). “Any
information concerning an arrest, charge, or conviction that has been sealed, including arrests,
charges, or convictions for possession of marijuana, do not have to be disclosed.”

If “YES”, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page, and include a copy of the
disposition/record certified by the Clerk of the Court.

Have you had any malpractice suits brought against you in the past ten (10) years?

If “YES”, please provide details for each pending or closed case, list additional claim(s) on a separate
page, and provide a letter from your attorney explaining each case.

Claimant: Date of Incident

[ TYes [ ]No

[ 1Yes [ ]No

[ 1Yes [ ]No

Name of Defense Attorney:

Settlement or Verdict Amount:

Name of Involved Insurance Company:

Brief description of the claim:
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RESTRICTED VOLUNTEER DENTAL LICENSE Application Page 3

Additional licensure questions:

1. A. Within the past five years, have you exhibited any conduct or behavior that could call into [ TYes [ ]No
question your ability to practice in a competent and professional manner? If “YES”, please
provide a full explanation.

B. Within the past five years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your [ 1Yes [ ]No
conduct or behavior? If “YES”, please provide a full explanation.

2. A. Within the past five years, have you been disciplined by any entity? [ 1Yes [ ]No
If “YES” please provide a full explanation and any associated orders or letters from the entity.

B. Within the past five years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct [ 1Yes [ INo
or behavior? If “YES” please provide a full explanation and any associated orders or letters
from the entity.

3. Do you currently have any physical condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to [ 1Yes [ ]No
perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent
manner?

**Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your
ability to function as a practicing Dentist. If “YES”, please provide a full explanation. Note: the
Board may request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition
and ability to safely practice. You may consider providing this documentation with your application,
or have your provider send this documentation directly to the Board.

4. Do you currently* have any mental health condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to [ TYes [ ]No
perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent
manner?

**Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your
ability to function as a practicing Dentist. If “YES”, please provide a full explanation. Note: the
Board may request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition
and ability to safely practice. You may consider providing this documentation with your application,
or have your provider send this documentation directly to the Board.

5. Do you currently* have any condition or impairment related to alcohol or other substance use that [ ]Yes [ ]No
affects or limits your ability to perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional
practice in a safe and competent manner?

**Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your
ability to function as a practicing Dentist. If “YES”, please provide a full explanation. Note: the
Board may request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition
and ability to safely practice. You may consider providing this documentation with your application,
or have your provider send this documentation directly to the Board.
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RESTRICTED VOLUNTEER DENTAL LICENSE Application Page 4

6. Within the past five years, have any conditions or restrictions been imposed upon you or your [ ]Yes [ ]No
practice to avoid disciplinary action by any entity?

If “YES”, please provide a full explanation and any associated orders or letters from the entity.
Note: the Board may request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing your current
condition and ability to safely practice. You may consider providing this documentation with your
application, or have your provider send this documentation directly to the Board.

VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY
APPLICATION AFFIDAVIT

| hereby certify that | am the person referred to in the forgoing application and the attached supporting
documents and that the information on this application and in the attachments is true, complete, and correct
to the best of my knowledge.

| hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers
(past and present) business and professional associates (past and present) and all governmental agencies
and instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign) to release to the Virginia Board of Dentistry any
information, files or records requested by the Board which is material to me and my application.

| have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without
reservations of any kind, and | declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by me
in the application and supporting documents are true and correct. Should | furnish any false information in this
application, | hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for the denial, suspension, or revocation of my
license to practice in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

| have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene. |
hereby agree to abide by and remain current with the applicable laws and regulations which are
available on www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry, and

| have attached a check or money order in the amount of $ made payable to the Treasurer of
Virginia. | fully understand that funds submitted as part of the application shall not be refunded.

Applicant Signature Date
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FORM A
CERTIFICATION OF DENTAL SUPERVISOR

INSTRUCTIONS: You may be required now or will be required in the future to have a sponsoring dentist in order to hold
a restricted volunteer license. You must have a sponsor if you have not been in active practice within the past five years
of making application.

TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT:

NAME OF APPLICANT: for Dental Restricted Volunteer License

1. Name and physical address of the clinic you will be volunteering at:

2. Please give the month and year when you were last in active practice.
Month Year

3. How many years have passed since your last date of service:

4. a. If your answer above is less than five years, you do not presently need a sponsor and you may stop here. The
date when you must have a sponsor will be specified on your restricted volunteer license. It is your responsibility
to obtain and report your sponsor by the date specified on your license. You may voluntarily obtain and report a
sponsor with your application.

b. If your answer above is five years or greater than your sponsor must provide the information requested below.
TO BE COMPLETED BY SPONSOR:

By affixing my signature below, | verify that | will review the quality of care rendered by the above named applicant at
least every 30 days who will only treat patients who have been screened by the approved clinic and are eligible for
treatment. | will directly observe patient care being provided and review all patient charts at least quarterly. Such
supervision shall be noted in patient charts and maintained in accordance with 18VAC60-21-90 as required by 18VAC60-
21-230.D(3)

Signature of Sponsor

Print Name

Title

Virginia License Number

Date
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Virginia Department of

Board of Dentistry

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233
(804) 367-4538 (Tel)

S Health Professions (804) 698.4266 (6Fax)

denbd@dhp.virginia.gov
www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry

FORM B

CHRONOLOGY

APPLICANT NAME:

receiving your degree or certification, including teaching

chronological listing and will not be considered.

Form B may be photocopied if additional space is needed.

Every applicant must provide a complete chronological, personal and professional history of all activities you have engaged in since

positions, all periods of non-professional activity or employment, volunteer

work and all periods of unemployment. Curriculum vitae and resumes are not accepted as substitutes for completing the

FROM TO POSITION/ACTIVITY
Month/Year Month/Year

Employer/Contact Person for practice verification and the
person’s Complete Address, and Telephone #
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FORM C
CERTIFICATION OF DENTAL BOARDS

Please forward one form to each state dental/dental hygiene board where you hold or have ever held a dental/dental hygiene license.
Some states require a fee, paid in advance, for providing this information. To expedite, you may wish to contact the applicable state
board(s). Form C may be photocopied if copies are needed.

| am making application for licensure in Virginia by:

Examination for Dental License
Credentials for Dental License
Dental Faculty License

Dental Temporary Permit

Examination for Dental Hygiene License
Credentials for Dental Hygiene License
Dental Hygiene Faculty License

Dental Hygiene Temporary Permit

] Dental Restricted Volunteer License

] Dental Hygiene Restricted Volunteer License
] Dental Reinstatement

] Dental Hygiene Reinstatement

[]
[]
[]
[]

————
— e —y

I, was granted License Number ,on by the State of
Month Date Year.

. The Virginia Board of Dentistry requires that | submit evidence of the status of my
license. You are hereby authorized to release any information in your files, favorable or otherwise directly to the Virginia
Board of Dentistry at 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, Virginia 23233 or denbd@dhp.virginia.gov. Your early
attention is appreciated.

Applicant’s Signature Applicant’s Typed/Printed Name Applicant’'s Address

Executive Officer of the Board: please send this form directly to the Virginia Board of Dentistry.

State of Name of Licensee
Graduate of License # Issued
By: [ ] Examination* [ ] Credentials [ ] Reciprocity with the State of [ 1 Endorsement with the State of

*If licensed by a state administered examination, please provide a score card or report which shows that testing included
live patients.

License is: [ ] Current-Expires [ ] Active [ ] Inactive [ ] Lapsed-Expired

Has applicant’s license ever been disciplined, suspended orrevoked [ ] NO [ ] YES

If “YES”, give details and attach supporting documentation (Finding of Fact, Conclusions of Law, Orders):

Comments, if any:

SEAL Signature Title Date

Print Name
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