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INSTRUCTIONS FOR ORAL & MAXILLOFACIAL SURGEON REGISTRATION OF PRACTICE 
 

Pursuant to 18VAC60-21-310 every licensed dentist who practices as an oral and maxillofacial surgeon, as defined in § 54.1-
2700 of the Code, shall register his practice with the board.  An oral and maxillofacial surgeon who fails to register and 
continues to practice oral and maxillofacial surgery may be subject to disciplinary action by the board. 
 

A completed application shall include the following unless otherwise stated below.  An incomplete application and/or fee will 
delay the processing of your application.  Incomplete applications remain active for one year from the date of receipt.  After 
one year from date of receipt, you would need to reapply for Virginia registration.  Documents submitted with an application 
are the property of the Board of Dentistry and cannot be returned.  
 

____ 1. Application:  Please be sure that all information and questions are completed on the application.  
 

____ 2. Application Fee:  The fee for an oral & maxillofacial surgeon registration of practice is $175 and must 
be paid with a check or money order, made payable to The Treasurer of Virginia. The fee can be used for 
one year from date of receipt. Pursuant to 18VAC60-21-40(G), all fees are non-refundable.  Your application 
will not be reviewed until you have submitted payment.  Please mail the completed application and fee to the 
address noted above. 
 

____ 3. Official documentation of completed OMS Residency Program 
   

OMS Requirements listed in 60-27 Guidance on Sedation Permits, effective February 3, 2022 

 The requirement for a sedation permit does not apply to an oral and maxillofacial surgeon (OMS) who maintains 
membership in the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (AAOMS) and who provides the 
Board with reports that result from the periodic office examinations required by AAOMS (18VAC60-21-300 (A)).   
 

 An OMS must hold a sedation permit if not a member of AAOMS.  If the OMS holds a sedation permit and then 
becomes a member of AAOMS, the OMS must notify the Board within 30 days of becoming a member of AAOMS. 

 

 An OMS, who is a member of AAOMS, must submit AAOMS office examination reports to the Board within 30 
days of receipt.   

 
Pursuant to 18VAC60-21-320. Profile of information for oral and maxillofacial surgeons. 
A. In compliance with requirements of § 54.1-2709.2 of the Code, an oral and maxillofacial surgeon registered with the board 

shall provide, upon initial request, the following information within 30 days:  
1. The address of the primary practice setting and all secondary practice settings with the percentage of time spent at 

each location;  
2. Names of dental or medical schools with dates of graduation;  
3. Names of graduate medical or dental education programs attended at an institution approved by the Accreditation 

Council for Graduate Medical Education, the Commission on Dental Accreditation, and the American Dental 
Association with dates of completion of training;  

4. Names and dates of specialty board certification or board eligibility, if any, as recognized by the Council on Dental 
Education and Licensure of the American Dental Association;  

5. Number of years in active, clinical practice in the United States or Canada, following completion of medical or dental 
training and the number of years, if any, in active, clinical practice outside the United States or Canada;  

6. Names of insurance plans accepted or managed care plans in which the oral and maxillofacial surgeon participates 
and whether he is accepting new patients under such plans;  

7. Names of hospitals with which the oral and maxillofacial surgeon is affiliated;  
8. Appointments within the past 10 years to dental school faculties with the years of service and academic rank;  
9. Publications, not to exceed 10 in number, in peer-reviewed literature within the most recent five-year period;  
10. Whether there is access to translating services for non-English speaking patients at the primary practice setting and 

which, if any, foreign languages are spoken in the practice; and  
11. Whether the oral and maxillofacial surgeon participates in the Virginia Medicaid Program and whether he is accepting 

new Medicaid patients. 
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B. The oral and maxillofacial surgeon may provide additional information on hours of continuing education earned, sub-
specialties obtained, and honors or awards received.  

C. Whenever there is a change in the information on record with the profile system, the oral and maxillofacial surgeon shall 
provide current information in any of the categories in subsection A of this section within 30 days. 

 
Pursuant to 18VAC60-21-340. Noncompliance or falsification of profile. 
A. The failure to provide the information required in 18VAC60-21-320 A may constitute unprofessional conduct and may 

subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  
B. Intentionally providing false information to the board for the profile system shall constitute unprofessional conduct and 

shall subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 
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APPLICATION FOR ORAL AND MAXILLOFACIAL SURGEON 
REGISTRATION OF PRACTICE 

 

INSTRUCTIONS:  Type or print clearly.  Complete all sections.  If the space provided for any answer is insufficient, complete 
your answer on a separate page, specify the number of the question to which it relates, sign the page and enclose it with 
the application.  Please mail the completed application and fee to the address noted above. 

GENERAL INFORMATION:  PLEASE COMPLETE ALL SECTIONS (PRINT OR TYPE) 

Name: Last* First Middle/Maiden Suffix 

Address of record(Mailing Address) City State Zip Code Telephone Number 

Publically Disclosable Address City State Zip Code Telephone Number 

Email address  Fax # 

Date of Birth 
 
_____________/_________/_______________ 
       Month               Day                Year 

Social Security Number or Virginia DMV control Number** 
 

____ ____ ____---____ ____--____ ____ ____ ____ 

Date of Completion of Residency 

____   ____  ____ 
Month     Day     Year  

Name of Completed OMS Residency Program. Please attach a copy of the certificate of completion: 

 

Virginia Dental License Number:  

 

Are you relocating to Virginia or an adjoining state or the District of Columbia with a spouse who is 1) on 
federal active duty orders, or 2) a veteran who has left active duty service within one year of submission 
of this application?  If “YES”, include a copy of the official military orders with the application.   
 
Are you active-duty military?  If “YES”, include a copy of your official military orders with the application. 
 

 

[  ] Yes  [  ] No 

 
 
 
[  ] Yes  [  ] No 
 

 

By signing below, I certify that I am the person referred to in the forgoing application and the attached supporting documents and that 
the information on this application and in the attachments is true, complete, and correct to the best of my knowledge.  I further certify 
that I have carefully read the laws and regulations applicable to the registration of oral and maxillofacial surgeons and hereby agree to 
abide by and remain current with the applicable laws and regulations which are available online at www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry.  

 
_______________________________________________________________                       ______________________________ 
                                         Signature of applicant                                                                                                   Date 

APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE – FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
 

*Name change: Documentation must be provided to show name change(s) if name has ever been changed from the time you 
attended school or while you were licensed in other jurisdictions. 
 

**In accordance with § 54.1-116 of the Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your control 
number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be 
suspended and fees will not be refunded.  This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification 
and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law.  Federal and state law requires that this number be 
shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities. 

Fee Amount Applicant # Registration # Date Issued 
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