

# COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463 E-Mail: FanBd@dhp.virginia.gov (804) 367-4479 (Phone) (804) 939-5973 (Fax) Website: www.dhp.virginia.gov

Rev. 08/23/2016

#### Instructions for Completing the Continuing Education Summary Form for The Virginia Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers

It is recommended that all licensees complete the form as a method of tracking their Continuing Education. This form is submitted to the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers upon its request.

- I. Complete the Information on the Summary Form for Each CE Experience; Attach Additional Copies of the Form if Needed.
  - A. <u>Documentation of Required Hours</u>: List a sufficient number of CE hours to fulfill the requirement as prescribed in § 54.1-2816.1 of the Code of Virginia effective July 1, 2012. The continuing education law requires funeral service licencees, funeral directors, and funeral embalmers to have completed a minimum of 5 hours of continuing education offered by a board-approved sponsor annually in courses that emphasize the ethics, standards of practice, preneed contracts and funding, or federal or state laws and regulations governing the profession of funeral service in Virginia. One hour per year shall cover compliance with federal or state laws and regulations governing the profession, and at least one hour per year shall cover preneed funeral arrangements.
  - B. Document Relevance of Course to the Practice of Funeral Service: Provide sufficient information about each CE experience to verify that the course was "an organized program of study, classroom experience or similar educational experience that is directly related to the practice of funeral service. Ordinarily, the title of CE program offered by an approved provider will be sufficient.
- II. Attach Supporting Documentation: Attach a Certificate of Completion/Attendance for each CE Experience and other supporting information that may be required to verify the hours Completed, the approval status of the CE provider, and the nature of the CE experience.
- III. Certify by signing and dating form below.



# **COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers**

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463 E-Mail: FanBd@dhp.virginia.gov (804) 367-4479 (Phone) (804) 939-5973 (Fax) Website: www.dhp.virginia.gov

### CONTINUING EDUCATION SUMMARY FORM

(See Regulations for Completion Requirements)

Name of Licensee		(See Regulations for Completion Re License Number		License Renewal Date		
CE Provider	Title of CE Progra (List Below)	am	Date(s) of A	Attendance	Hours Completed	
(List Below)	(List Below)		(List Below)		Face-to-Face Instruction	Other Format

CE Provider (List Below)	Title of CE Program (List Below)	Date(s) of Attendance (List Below)	Hours Completed (Face to Face)	Hours
				Completed (Other Format)

[Attach Additional Copies of this Sheet if Necessary]

#### **CERTIFY:**

As required by law and regulation, I certify that I have completed the **CONTINUED EDUCATION SUMMARY FORM** and have participated in 5 hours of continuing learning activities as required for renewal of a Funeral Service Licensee in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Signature

**Printed Name** 

Date

License No.

Rev. 08/23/2016