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Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians/HAS LIC APP

Commonwealth of Virginia  
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400  
Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485
(804) 367-8509
www.dpor.virginia.gov

Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians
HEARING AID SPECIALIST LICENSE APPLICATION

OFFICE 
USE 

ONLY

DATE FEE TRANS CODE ENTITY # FILE #/LICENSE # ISSUE DATE

 2101

Applicants requesting a TEMPORARY PERMIT must also submit a Hearing Aid Specialist Temporary Permit Application 
and a Hearing Aid Temporary Permit Sponsor Training & Experience Agreement.

A check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA, 
 or a completed credit card insert must be mailed with your application package. 

 APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.
Select one license type you are requesting:

X License Type Trans Fee
2101 - Hearing Aid Specialist by Exam 1010 $140.00
2101 - Hearing Aid Specialist by Reciprocity 1012 $140.00
2101 - Physician licensed to practice in Virginia and certified by the 
American Board of Otolaryngology or eligible for such certification 1010 $30.00

If yes, attach a copy of your current ILE certificate.
No    
Yes

Have you Passed the International Licensing Examination for the Hearing Instrument Dispenser (ILE)?

Have you ever held a Hearing Aid Specialist License issued by the Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and 
Opticians?

No    
Yes

1.

 VA Hearing Aid Specialist No. 2 1 0 1 Expiration Date
 If yes and your license expired more than 30 days ago, but less than 2 years ago, you are required to reinstate 

your Virginia Hearing Aid Specialist License by completing a Hearing Aid Specialist License Reinstatement 
Application. DO NOT COMPLETE THIS LICENSE APPLICATION.
 If yes and your license expired 2 or more years ago, you are required to reapply for licensure on this application.

2. Full Legal Name (As it appears on your government issued ID or other legal documentation.)

Last   (required) First   (required) Middle Generation 

Provide at least one of the following identification numbers  :2.
Social Security Number  and/or

Virginia DMV Control Number

State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade, profession or occupation issued 
by the Commonwealth to provide a social security number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.



Enter the same identification number as used on examination, previous applications or licenses on file with the department.

- -

4. Date of Birth 
MM/DD/YYYY

(Must be at least 18 years of age.)

5. Maiden Name or Former Surname(s)
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6.
The mailing address will be  

printed on the license. 

Mailing Address (PO Box accepted) 

City State Zip Code

7. Street Address (PO Box  not  accepted) 
PHYSICAL ADDRESS REQUIRED

Check here if Street Address is the same as the Mailing Address listed above. 

State City Zip Code

8. Contact Numbers 
Primary Telephone Alternate Telephone Fax

Email Address 
Email address is considered a public record and will be disclosed upon request from a third party.

9.

10. Current Employer's Name
11. Current Employer's Address

City State Zip Code
12. Are you a physician who is licensed to practice in Virginia AND certified or eligible to be certified by the American 

Board of Otolaryngology?
No    
Yes If yes, attach a copy of your Virginia license and American Board of Otolaryngology certificate. Skip to 

question #15.
13. Do you have a current or expired Hearing Aid Specialist Temporary Permit issued by the Virginia Board for Hearing Aid 

Specialists and Opticians?
No    

Yes

If no, attach a certified copy of a transcript of courses completed at an accredited college or university, 
or other notarized documentation of completion of the required experience and training

 VA Hearing Aid Specialist Temporary Permit No.

2 1 0 2 Expiration Date
 If yes, attach a completed Hearing Aid Specialist Training & Experience Form.

14. Are you an audiologist who is licensed to practice in Virginia?
No    
Yes If yes, attach a copy of your Virginia license. In accordance with Board policy, Virginia licensed 

audiologists are not required to take the Audiometric Testing and Speech Audiometry sections of the 
examination.

15. Do you have a current or expired hearing aid specialist license, certification, or registration from another state?

If yes, list all the licenses, certificates and registrations in the following table and attach a Certification of 
Licensure/Letter of Good Standing,  dated within the last 60 days from each state.

No    
Yes



State/Jurisdiction Did you pass a practical 
exam? License, Certification or Registration No. Expiration 

Date
No    Yes
No    Yes
No    Yes







 If yes, list the state and date of the exam:
Certifications of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing, prepared by the state board or regulatory body must include: 1) the license/certification/
registration number;  2) the initial date of licensure;  3) the expiration date of the license or renewal fee;  4) the means of obtaining licensure (i.e. 
exam, reciprocity, etc.) and the minimum requirement that were met to qualify for licensure; and 5) all closed disciplinary actions resulting in a 
violation or undetermined finding.


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16. Have you ever been subject to a disciplinary action taken by any (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory 
body? 

No    
Yes If yes, complete the Disciplinary Action Reporting Form.

17. Have you ever been convicted in any jurisdiction of a misdemeanor and/or felony? Any guilty plea or plea of nolo 
contendere must be disclosed on this application. Do not disclose violations that were adjudicated as a minor in the 
juvenile court system. 

No    
Yes If yes, complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting Form.

18. Professional hearing aid-related experience (see regulation 18VAC80-20-30) – you are also required to attach proof 
of successful completion of high school or high school equivalency course.
Date Employer's Name & Address Description of Duties Supervisor's Name & Title

From To

Consent to Suits 
By signing this application, you acknowledge that if you are not a Virginia resident, or move outside of Virginia while you hold 
a Virginia Hearing Aid Specialist License, you understand that this application serves as a written power of attorney, whereby 
you appoint the Director of the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, and his/her successors in office, to 
be your true and lawful agent and attorney-in-fact, in your stead, upon whom all legal process against and notice to you may 
be served and who is hereby authorized to enter an appearance on your behalf in any case or proceedings arising out of the 
trade or profession practiced; and that by submitting this application you hereby agree that any lawful process against you 
which is duly served on said agent and attorney-in-fact shall be of the same legal force and validity as if served upon you.

19. By signing this application, I certify the following statements:
I am aware that submitting false information or omitting pertinent or material information in connection with this 
application will delay processing and may lead to license revocation or denial of license.



I will notify the Board of any changes to the information provided in this application prior to receiving the 
requested license, certification, or registration including, but not limited to any disciplinary action or conviction of 
a felony or misdemeanor (in any jurisdiction).



I authorize the Department to verify information concerning me or any statement in this application from any 
person, or any source the department may contact.  I also agree to present any credentials or documents 
required or requested by the Department.



I authorize any federal, state or local government agency, current or former employer, or other individual or 
business to release information which may be required for a background investigation.



I have read, understand and complied with all the laws of Virginia related to this profession under the provisions 
of Title 54.1, Chapter 15, of the Code of Virginia and the Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and 
Opticians; Hearing Aid Specialist Regulations.



Signature Date


