Commonwealth of Virginia
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400
Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485
(804) 367-8509
www.dpor.virginia.gov



Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians HEARING AID SPECIALIST LICENSE APPLICATION

\Rightarrow			uesting a TEMPORARY PERMIT are required to submit this <u>li</u> <u>t Temporary Permit Application</u> and the <u>Hearing Aid Temporary</u> <u>Agreement</u> . (Both forms are included together in the Perm	/ Permit	Sponsor T	
	A check or money order payable to the <u>TREASURER OF VIRGINIA</u> , or a completed <u>credit card insert</u> must be mailed with your application package. APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.					
			Select one license type you are requesting:			
		X	License Type	Trans	Fee	
			2101 - Hearing Aid Specialist by Exam	1010	\$215.00	
			2101 - Hearing Aid Specialist by Reciprocity	1012	\$215.00	
			2101 - Physician licensed to practice in Virginia and certified by the American Board of Otolaryngology or eligible for such certification	1010	\$125.00	
			2101 - A Virginia licensed audiologist, who has earned a doctoral degree in audiology	1010	\$125.00	
1.	 Have you Passed the International Licensing Examination for the Hearing Instrument Dispenser (ILE)? No Applicants must pass the International Licensing Examination for the Hearing Instrument Dispens (unless an exemption is permitted as indicated in question 13 A or 13 B). The cost of this exam is r included in the application fee. Yes If yes, attach a copy of your current ILE certificate. 					Instrument Dispenser
2.	Have you ever Opticians?	held	a Hearing Aid Specialist License issued by the Virginiaring Aid Specialist No. $2 \ 1 \ 0 \ 1$		d for Hear	
	 If yes and your license expired more than 30 days ago, but less than 2 years ago, you are required to reins your Virginia Hearing Aid Specialist License by completing a <u>Hearing Aid Specialist License Reinstaten Application</u>. DO NOT COMPLETE THIS LICENSE APPLICATION. If yes and your license expired 2 or more years ago, you are required to reapply for licensure on application. 				ist License Reinstatemen	
3.	Full Legal Name	e (A	s it appears on your government issued ID or other legal docum	nentatior	า.)	

Enter the same identification number as used on examination, previous applications or licenses on file with the department.

First (required)

Provide at least **one** of the following identification numbers*:

Social Security Number and/or

Virginia DMV Control Number

* State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade, profession or occupation issued by the Commonwealth to provide a social security number or a control number issued by the *Virginia* Department of Motor Vehicles.

Middle

OFFICE USE ONLY	DATE	FEE	TRANS CODE	ENTITY#	FILE #LICENSE #	ISSUE DATE
-----------------------	------	-----	------------	---------	-----------------	------------

Last (required)

Generation

5.	Date of Birth	(Must be at least	18 years of age.)		
6.	Maiden Name or Former Surn	ame(s)			
7.	Mailing Address (PO Box acc	epted)			
	The mailing address will be	· ,			
	printed on the license.	City		State	Zip Code
8.	Street Address (PO Box <u>not</u> PHYSICAL ADDRESS REQ		if Street Address is the <u>same</u> as the Mailing Ad	ldress listed abo	ove.
		City		State	Zip Code
9.	Contact Numbers				
		Primary Telephone	Alternate Telephone		Fax
10.	Email Address	Farail address is asserted and a sec	blic account and will be displaced was account		and an autor
		·	blic record and will be disclosed upon requ	int a mort teal	га рапу.
11.	Are you currently working in the	ie professional field of a Hea	aring Aid Specialist?		
	No ☐ Yes ☐ If yes, provide t	he following information for t	he current employer:		
		· ·	ne current employer.		
	Current Employ				
	Current Employ	'er's Address			
		City		State	Zip Code
12.	No ☐ Yes ☐ If yes, list <u>all</u> <i>Licensure/Lett</i>	the licenses, certificates ar	ense, certification, or registration from the registrations in the following state be submitted directly from the state of the registrations.	table. <u>A (</u>	Certification of
	directly to the B	Did you pass a practical	e last 60 days from each state. License, Certification or	<u> </u>	Expiration
	State/Jurisdiction	exam?	Registration No.	'	Date
		No ☐ Yes * ☐			
		No Yes *			
		No ☐ Yes * ☐			
*	If yes, list the state and date of	of the evam:			
^\	•		state board or regulatory body must inc	Juda: 1) tha I	icana da rtification
•	registration number; 2) the initial da	ate of licensure; 3) the expiration d	state board or regulatory body must include of the license or renewal fee; 4) the roo qualify for licensure; and 5) all closed of	means of obta	ining licensure (i.e.
13.	certification? No ☐ Yes ☐ If yes, at Otolaryng ➤ A Physician license	ttach a copy of your Virgiology or documentation showed to practice in Virginia and ce	by the American Board of Otolarys nia license and certification from wing eligibility from the American E ertified by the American Board of Otologo	m the Ame	erican Board of olaryngology.
	certification shall n	ot be required to pass an exam	ination. Skip to question #18.		

	B. Are yo No	u a Virginia licensed audiologist <u>and</u>	who has earned a doctoral degree in au	diology?		
	Yes	If yes, attach a copy of you degree.	ur Virginia license and a transcript show	wing evidence of the doctoral		
	>	All Virginia licensed audiologist who examination. Skip to Question #18.	have earned a doctoral degree in audiolo	gy are not required to pass an		
14.	-	irginia licensed audiologist (without a	doctoral degree)?			
	No Yes	If yes, attach a copy of your Virgin	ia license.			
		rdance with Board policy, Virginia licent etry sections of the examination.	sed audiologist are not required to take the	Audiometric Testing and Speech		
15. Do you have a <u>current</u> or <u>expired</u> Hearing Aid Specialist Temporary Permit issued by the Specialists and Opticians? No If no, attach a certified copy of a transcript showing courses compuniversity, or other notarized documentation of completion of the required.				ted at an accredited college/		
	Yes	•	ing Aid Specialist Temporary Permit nu			
		Temporary Permit No. 2 1	0 2 Expiration [
16.	Did you complete a Virginia apprenticeship with the Virginia Department of Workforce Development and Advancement?					
	No					
	Yes _	If yes, attach a completed <u>Virgin</u> available from your apprenticeship	nia Department of Workforce Developn o representative.	nent and Advancement Form		
17.	List below ye	our professional hearing aid-related	experience (see regulation 18VAC80-20-	30):		
	Date	Employer's Name & Address	Description of Duties	Supervisor's Name & Title		
Fro	m To					
18.	Have you evelobedy? No Yes	ver been subject to a disciplinary ac	tion taken by <u>any</u> (including Virginia) loc	al, state or national regulatory		
10				ation in any invitadiation of the		
19.	United No	States of any felony ? Any plea of r	nilty, regardless of the manner of adjudic noto contendere shall be considered a co			
	Yes	If yes, complete the <u>Criminal</u>	. •			
		ou ever been convicted or found gu	ilty, regardless of the manner of adjudic	ation, in any jurisdiction of the		
		States of any <u>misdemeanor</u> (non-m	narijuana drug distribution)?			
	United No Yes	States of any misdemeanor (non-missing) If yes, complete the Criminal	,			

Consent to Suits

By signing this application, you acknowledge that if you are not a Virginia resident, or move outside of Virginia while you hold a *Virginia Hearing Aid Specialist License*, you understand that this application serves as a written power of attorney, whereby you appoint the Director of the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, and his/her successors in office, to be your true and lawful agent and attorney-in-fact, in your stead, upon whom all legal process against and notice to you may be served and who is hereby authorized to enter an appearance on your behalf in any case or proceedings arising out of the trade or profession practiced; and that by submitting this application you hereby agree that any lawful process against you which is duly served on said agent and attorney-in-fact shall be of the same legal force and validity as if served upon you.

- 20. By signing this application, I certify the following statements:
 - I am aware that submitting false information or omitting pertinent or material information in connection with this application will delay processing and may lead to license revocation or denial of license.
 - I will notify the Board of any changes to the information provided in this application prior to receiving the requested license, certification, or registration including, but not limited to any disciplinary action or conviction of a felony or misdemeanor (in any jurisdiction).
 - I authorize the Department to verify information concerning me or any statement in this application from any person, or any source the department may contact. I also agree to present any credentials or documents required or requested by the Department.
 - I authorize any federal, state or local government agency, current or former employer, or other individual or business to release information which may be required for a background investigation.
 - I have read, understand and complied with all the laws of Virginia related to this profession under the provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 15, of the Code of Virginia and the Virginia Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians; Hearing Aid Specialist Regulations.

Signature	Date	
-----------	------	--