Rev 12/17

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AN APPLICATION TO PRACTICE AS A LIMITED RADIOLOGIC
TECHNOLGIST IN VIRGINIA
This is not the application for a full Radiologic Technologist or Radiologist Assistant license.
(This form has been designed to be used as a checklist when preparing to submit your application.)
APPLICATION FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE

BEFORE YOU PROCEED, READ THE FOLLOWING POINTS CAREFULLY!
DO NOT BEGIN PRACTICING BEFORE YOU ARE ISSUED A LICENSE.
This is the application for a license to practice as a LIMITED Radiologic Technologist.
You should familiarize yourself with the qualifications required for a license by reviewing the laws and regulations

governing the practice of radiologic technology in Virginia. They can be found at:
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine laws regs.htm

The Board works as efficiently as possible to process applications. The time from filing an application with the Board
until the issuance of a license is dependent upon entities over which the Board has no control. It is the applicant’s
responsibility to ensure that outside entities send the necessary documentation to the Board.

The Board provides an electronic checklist for your convenience in tracking your application. You should allow
approximately 10 business days for your application checklist to be first updated on the Board’s website.

Supporting documentation will be added to your checklist as it is received. Processing of documents may take up to 10
business days after they are received. If you find your checklist does not exist or does not indicate necessary documents
have been received, e-mail the Board at medbd@dhp.virginia.gov, with “Limited Radiologic Technologist Application
Question” in the subject line. E-mails will be answered within 2 business days.

Your application checklist may be viewed by logging into your application and clicking on the “View Checklist” link
located in the Pending Licenses section. This link will not be visible for applicants who have not yet paid the application
fee. If you have submitted your application and required fee online, but no longer see your checklist in the Pending
Licensing section, your license may have been issued by the Board. Before calling the Board, please visit
https://dhp.virginiainteractive.org/Lookup/Index to view your newly issued license. This website is primary source
license verification that meets the Joint Commission’s requirements for license verification.  If you need technical
assistance with your checklist contact the agency’s helpdesk at 804-367-4444. The helpdesk cannot provide assistance
regarding information about your documents.

The Board of Medicine discourages the use of the United States Postal Service to send documents. If possible, and if
noted below, you are encouraged to have your documents sent by pdf attachment, FAX, FED EX or UPS. The Board is
unable to trace documents not delivered by the post office.

Supporting documentation sent to the Board when there is no application on file will be purged after six months.
NB: Virginia law considers material misrepresentation of fact in an application for licensure to be a Class 1 misdemeanor.

Misrepresentation may be by commission or omission. Be sure of your facts and provide full responses to the Board’s
guestions.

PROCEEDING TO THE APPLICATION SIGNIFIES THAT YOU HAVE READ AND ACCEPT THE FOREGOING
PRINCIPLES REGARDING THE BOARD’S PROCESSES.


http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine_laws_regs.htm
mailto:medbd@dhp.virginia.gov
https://dhp.virginiainteractive.org/Lookup/Index
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AN APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE AS A

LIMITED RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGIST
(This form has been designed for use as a checklist for submitting required documentation.

Complete the online application https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ which includes paying the
nonrefundable application fee of $90.00. Application fees may only be paid using Visa, MasterCard or Discover.

Educational requirements: (A) Submit evidence of successful completion of a program that is directed by a
radiologic technologist with a bachelor’s degree and current ARRT certification, has instructors who are licensed
radiologic technologists, and has a minimum of the following coursework: a. Image Production/Equipment
Operation 25 clock hours; b. Radiation Protection - 15 clock hours; and c. Radiographic procedures in the anatomical
area of the radiologic technologist-limited’s practice - 10 clock hours, OR for chiropractic (B) submit evidence of an
ACRRT approved program, OR for bone density (C) submit evidence of ISCD certification for bone densitometry,
OR for podiatry, submit a copy of the certificate / diploma from the Virginia Podiatric Medical Association. This
evidence may not be faxed.

Form T/C (1) Training application: This form is required for all anatomical areas with the exception of bone
density. This form must be signed by the licensed radiologic technologist, doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine or
doctor of podiatric medicine who will supervise your training, and returned directly to the board office for approval. A
copy of the approved form T/C (1) will be mailed to the applicant so that training may begin. Upon completion of
training, form T/C(2) must be signed by the licensed radiologic technologist, doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine
or doctor of podiatric, notarized and returned directly to the board office. There is no fee required for this training.
Form T/C (1) may be faxed or emailed. Form T/C (2) may not be faxed or emailed. *Do not begin training prior
to Board approval.

Form T/E(1) Traineeship application (optional): If you have submitted an application for a license and would like
authorization to work as a trainee while awaiting results of the ARRT Limited Scope Exam, ISCD certification or
completion of abdomen training, you may complete and submit Form T/E. The fee for this traineeship is $25.00.
Mail a check made payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia” to the Virginia Board of Medicine. This form may not be
faxed or emailed and must be received with the application fee. A traineeship application is not valid without a
licensure application and fee on file with the Board of Medicine.

The American Registry of Radiologic Technologist
1255 Northland Drive

Mendota Heights, MN 55120-1155,
(651)687-0048

www.arrt.org
Do Not Send Fees to the ARRT Without Your Board Eligibility Letter

Examinations Required

ARRT examination fee: The fee to take the ARRT Limited Scope core examination with specific radiographic
anatomical area examination/s is $125.00. Upon receipt of your eligibility letter from the Virginia Board of Medicine,
send the examination fee and letter to the ARRT office. Candidates will receive correspondence from the ARRT
regarding the scheduling of the examination. Examination fees sent to the ARRT without an eligibility letter will be
returned to the candidate.

If you need to take any of the examinations listed below, please submit an application, required forms and training
fees directly to the Virginia Board of Medicine. Indicate on the licensure application the specific anatomical area(s) you
wish to practice. The areas listed below require examinations.


http://www.arrt.org/

If you took the ARRT Limited Scope examination(s) previously for another state, request scores directly from that approving
jurisdiction. Re-examination may not be required. You will however, be required to complete clinical training for specific
anatomical areas.

Chest/thorax and/or Extremities and/or Skull/Sinuses and/or Spine

a) Submit evidence of completion of education requirements to include core and specific areas to the Virginia Board of
Medicine.

b) Submit a Cashier’s check or money order for $125 payable to ARRT directly to the ARRT. Refer to the eligibility
letter you will receive from the Board.

c) Submit Clinical Form T/C-1 for approval.

d) Submit Clinical Form T/C-2 after completing the clinical training.

Podiatry
Option 1 If you wish to take the test through ARRT:

a) Submit evidence of completion of education requirements to include core and podiatry to the Virginia Board of Medicine.

b) Submit a Cashier’s check or money order, for $125 payable to ARRT, directly to the ARRT. Refer to the eligibility
letter you will receive from the Board.

c) Submit clinical form T/C-1 for approval

d) Submit clinical form T/C-2 after completing the clinical training.

Option 2
If you have completed the program/examination offered by the Virginia Podiatric Medical Association:

a) Submit a copy of the certificate / diploma to the Virginia Board of Medicine.

Chiropractic
If you have completed the ACRRT (American Chiropractic Registry of Radiologic Technologists) examination:

a) Submit a copy of the certificate/diploma to the Virginia Board of Medicine.

Bone Density

Option 1
If you wish to take the test through ARRT:

a) Submit the education requirements to include Core and bone density to the Virginia Board of Medicine.

b) Submit a Cashier’s check or money order, for $125.00 made payable to ARRT, to take the Core Section directly to the
ARRT. Refer to the eligibility letter you will receive from the Board.

c) After passing the core section, submit a Cashier’s check or money order, for $125.00 made payable to ARRT, to take the
bone density exam directly to the ARRT. Refer to your eligibility letter you will receive from the Board.

Option 2
If you have completed the ISCD (International Society for the Clinical Densitometry) examination:

a) Submit a copy of the ISCD certificate / diploma to the Virginia Board of Medicine.

ARRT Examinations are Computer Based

To take any of the above examinations, please submit an application and forms directly to the Virginia Board of Medicine.
Upon completion of your application for examination, approval will be forwarded to the ARRT office. You will be notified in
writing by the ARRT verifying the 3 month time period to schedule the examination. Your scores will be reported directly to
the Virginia Board of Medicine and you will be sent written notification of the results of your examination from the Virginia
Board of Medicine. Results will not be released over the telephone.

Abdomen/Pelvis

The ARRT Limited Scope Core Examination is required for licensure as a radiologic technologist-limited in the
anatomical area of abdomen/pelvis. Because there is no ARRT Limited Scope Anatomical Specific Examination in the
area of abdomen/pelvis, additional training is required for licensure in abdomen/pelvis.

Submit evidence of completion of education requirements to include Core and abdomen/pelvis (refer to item #3) to the
Virginia Board of Medicine.



Submit a Cashier’s check or money order, for $125.00 made payable to the ARRT, directly to the ARRT. Refer to the

eligibility letter you will receive from the Board.

Submit training form T/A-1 and $25 (payable to the Treasurer of Virginia) for approval. Form T/A (1) must be signed by
the licensed radiologic technologist or doctor of medicine or osteopathic medicine and the applicant for licensure and
submitted to the Board for approval. A copy of the approved form will be mailed to the applicant so that training may

begin. Upon completion of training, form T/A(2) must be submitted to the Board, signed by the supervisor attesting to the

successful performance of at least 25 radiologic examinations of the abdomen and /or pelvis under his direct supervision
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and observation and to further attest to competency in the areas of radiation safety, positioning, patient instruction,
anatomy, pathology and technical factors.

Submit training Form T/A-2 after completing the training (25 exams). This form may not be faxed.

Items 6-8 are not required if you have never practiced your profession and you
have never held licensure in another jurisdiction.

Employment Activity (Form B) Questionnaire — All applicants must list all activities from the date of graduation
from your professional school including but not limited to internships, employment, affiliations, periods of non-
activity or unemployment, observerships and volunteer service in the “Employment Activity” section of the
application beginning with your first activity following professional school graduation. If you are employed by a
group practice or locum tenens/traveler company, please list all locations where you have provided service or held
privileges. Follow this link to obtain a Form B:

Form B - Hospital/Employment History Questionnaire

For further information related to completing Form B’s please review the following guidance document before
contacting the Board of Medicine: Guidance on Completing Form B Employment Verifications, adopted
December 1, 2017

Form B’s sent to the Virginia Board of Medicine by the applicant will not be accepted.

A completed Form B Activity Questionnaire or a letter of recommendation must be received from all locations of
service, places of practice or professional employment, observerships, professional research positions or professional
volunteer service listed for the 2 years immediately preceding application. Form B’s completed by a non-medical
professional may not be accepted.

For applicants practicing as travelers, have the company you are affiliated with provide a complete list of
all locations and dates where you have provided service. Form B employment verifications must be
received from each location of service for the past 2 years.

Completed Form B’s may be attached as a PDF and sent to medbd@dhp.virginia.qov, faxed to (804) 527-4426
or mailed by the person completing the document.

[17 License Verification— Verification of radiologic technologist licenses from all jurisdictions within the United

States, its territories and possessions or Canada in which you have been issued a license/certificate or registration
must be received by the Board. Please contact the applicable jurisdiction where you have been issued a license
to inquire about having verification forwarded to the Virginia Board of Medicine. Verification must come
from the jurisdiction and may be sent by fax to (804) 527-4426, email to medbd@dhp.virginia.gov, or mailed.

(18 NPDB Self Query — Complete the online Place a Self-Query Order form. Be ready to provide:

o ldentifying information such as name, date of birth, Social Security number
o State health care license information (if you are licensed)
o Credit or debit card information for the $4.00 fee (charged for each copy you request)


https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Forms/medicine/FormB.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/guidelines/85-3.docx
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/guidelines/85-3.docx
mailto:medbd@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/ext/selfquery/SQHome.jsp

Verify your identity. This can be done electronically as part of your order or by completing a paper form and
having it notarized. You will receive full instructions as you complete your order.

Wait for your response. Once your identity is verified, the NPDB will process your order. A paper copy of
your response will be sent the next business day by regular U.S. mail.

The Board does not accept emailed copies of the NPDB report. When you receive your report in the mail from
NPDB DO NOT OPEN IT. Place your unopened NPDB report in an oversized envelope and forward it to
the Virginia Board of Medicine. The Board recommends using Fed EX or UPS for tracking purposes. The
Board of Medicine is unable to track any mail or other package that is sent via the United States Postal
Service.

Any NPDB report received for an application not completed within 3 months of receipt of the NPDB report
will have to be resubmitted.

Please note:

» Applications not completed within 12 months may be purged without notice from the board. Applications not completed
within one year are considered inactive. Applicants who would like to continue the process after one year will be required to
submit a new application and fee.

» Virginia is a direct verification state. All supporting documents must come from the original source unless specifically
noted in the instructions.

» Additional information not already listed may be requested at any time during the process.

» Application fees are non-refundable.



» The Board’s mailing address is:
The Virginia Board of Medicine
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, VA 23233

» Email inquiries are normally responded to within 2 business days. Send your email inquiries to
medbd@DHP.Virginia.gov.

» Submission of an application does not guarantee a license. A review of your application could result in the finding that
you may not be eligible pursuant to Virginia laws and regulations.

*If you are granted a Virginia license please be advised that continued learning is required after the first renewal cycle
following initial licensure. Requirements can be found on the Board’s website.

*Contact person Beulah Archer 804-367-3051. Email beulah.archer@dhp.virginia.gov — website:
www.dhp.virginia.gov



mailto:beulah.archer@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/

Rev. 3/14 Radiologic Technology-Limited Form B

Department of Health Professions
Commonwealth of Virginia

Board of Medicine
960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 FAX (804) 527-4426
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463 (804) 367-3051

Print Name:

Please print or type name, address, city and state, of employment setting.

Please print or type name of Applicant

The Virginia Board of Medicine, in its consideration of a candidate for licensure, depends on information from persons and institutions regarding the
candidate’s employment, training, affiliations, and staff privileges. Please complete this form to the best of your ability and return it to the board so the
information you provide can be given consideration in the processing of this candidate’s application in a timely manner. | hereby authorize all hospitals,
institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers (past and present), business and professional associates (past and present)
and governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign) to release to the Virginia Board of Medicine any information, files or
records requested by the board in connection with the processing of my application.

Signature of Applicant

Date and type of service: This individual served with us as
from to
(Month/Year) (Month/Year)

2. Please evaluate: (Please indicate with check mark)

Poor Fair Good Superior

Professional knowledge

Clinical judgment

Relationship with patients

Ethical/professional conduct

Interest in work

Ability to communicate

3. Recommendation: (please indicate with check mark)

Recommend highly and without reservation [_]; Recommend as qualified and competent []
Recommend with some reservation (explain)
Do not recommend (explain)

Of particular value to us in evaluating any candidate regarding any notable strengths and weaknesses (including personal demeanor). We would
appreciate such comments from you.

The above report is based on: (please indicate with check mark)
Close personal observation [_]; General impression [_]; A composite of evaluations [I;

Other:

Date: Signed by:
Print or type name:
Title:

(This report will become a part of the applicant's file and may be reviewed by the applicant upon request.)



Rev. 3/14 Radiologic Technologist-Limited Form T/E

Department of Health Professions
Commonwealth of Virginia

Board of Medicine
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463 (804) 367-3051

TRAINEESHIP APPLICATION

STATEMENT OF AUTHORIZATION
FEE $25.00

GRADUATES WHO ARE SCHEDULED FOR THE NEXT EXAMINATION, UPON APPROVAL, MAY BE EMPLOYED UNDER DIRECT
SUPERVISION OF A VIRGINIA LICENSED RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGIST, MD, DO, OR DPM WHILE AWAITING THE RESULTS OF
THE NEXT LICENSURE EXAMINATION/COMPLETION OF PROCEDURES.

Authorization to work as a trainee is valid only for the period indicated on the “Statement of Authorization” issued by the Board of Medicine. Unforeseen
circumstances that require interruption or prevent successful completion of the traineeship should be brought to the attention of the board. This
traineeship may only be served under a Virginia licensed Radiologic Technologist, MD, DO, DC, or DPM. Traineeship can begin on the date of approval
of this authorization and will end upon receipt of examination results, or completion of required number of procedures.

(Please Print or Type)

Name of Trainee:

Name and Title of Supervisor:

Supervisor's Virginia License Number: Phone Number ( )

Name and Address of Institution:

We, the undersigned, have read and understand Regulation 18 VAC 85-101-61 and agree to abide by the conditions contained herein. The
traineeship shall terminate upon receipt by the candidate of the licensure examination results/procedures.

Signature of Trainee Signature of Supervisor

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

APPROVED BY:

Deputy Director/Licensure Date Approved




Rev. 3/14 - Radiologic Technologist-Limited Form T/A(1)

Department of Health Professions
Commonwealth of Virginia

Board of Medicine
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463 (804) 367-3051

Radiologic Technologist-Limited Training Application

FOR ABDOMEN/PELVIS — (25 Exams)
FEE $25.00

Pursuant to Virginia Regulations 18 VAC 85-101-60 B (2)(b)(1), “Until the ARRT offers an examination in the radiographic procedures of the
abdomen and pelvis, the applicant may qualify for a limited license by submission of a notarized statement from a licensed radiologic
technologist or doctor of medicine or osteopathy attesting to the applicant’s training and competency to practice in that anatomical area.”

Part (1) of this form must be signed by the applicant and the applicant's supervisor and returned to the Board of Medicine for approval. The
approved application will be forwarded to the supervisor and copied to the applicant. Upon receipt, the applicant may begin training. *Please note
that this application is only good for six months from the date of approval.

Part (1)

Name of applicant:

Print or Type

Signature of applicant:

Name of supervisor:

Print or Type

Signature of supervisor:

Supervisor's Virginia License Number

Approved by the Board of Medicine

Deputy Executive Director/Licensure Date



REV. 3/14 Radiologic Technologist-Limited Form T/A (2)

Applicant's name

Type or Print

Part (2) of this form must be signed by the applicant's supervisor upon completion of the required training, notarized and forwarded to the Board of
Medicine. Upon receipt and review the applicant’s application will be considered for licensure. This process takes approximately 3 to 5 working
days. The applicant will be notified in writing.

Part (2)

ABDOMEN/PELVIS

The signature below indicates that the radiologic technologist or doctor of medicine or osteopathy attests that the above named has
successfully performed at least 25 radiologic examinations of the abdomen and/or pelvis under his direct supervision and observation, and
further attests to the applicant’s competency in the areas of radiation safety, positioning, patient instruction, anatomy, pathology and
technical factors.

Radiologic Technologist/Doctor of Medicine/Osteopathy Date
Notary Seal

City/County of State of

Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of 20

My Commission expires

Signature of Notary Public



Rev. 3/14 Radiologic Technology-Limited Form T/C (1)

Department of Health Professions
Commonwealth of Virginia

Board of Medicine
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463 (804) 367-3051

Radiologic Technology-Limited Clinical Training Application

Pursuant to Virginia Regulations 18 VAC 85-101-60 B (3)

An applicant for licensure by examination as a radiologic technologist - limited shall successfully perform a traineeship of at least 10
radiologic examinations in the anatomical area for which he is seeking licensure under the direct supervision and observation of a licensed
rad tech or a doctor of medicine or osteopathy.

Part (1) of this form must be signed by the applicant and the applicant's supervisor and returned to the Board of Medicine for approval. The
approved application will be forwarded to the supervisor and copied to the applicant. Upon receipt, the applicant may begin training. *Please note
that this application is only good for six months from the date of approval.

Part (1)

Name of applicant:

Print or Type

Signature of applicant:

Name of supervisor:

Print or Type

Signature of supervisor:

Supervisor's Virginia License Number

Approved by the Board of Medicine

Deputy Executive Director/Licensure Date



REV. 3/14 Radiologic Technology -Limited Form T/C (2)

Applicant's name

Type or Print

Part (2) of this form must be signed by the applicant’s supervisor upon completion of the required training, notarized and forwarded to the Board of
Medicine. Upon receipt and review the applicant's application will be considered for licensure. This process takes approximately 3 to 5 working
days. The applicant will be notified in writing.

Part (2)

The signature below indicates that the radiologic technologist or doctor of medicine or osteopathy attests that the above named has successfully
performed at least 10 radiologic examinations in the anatomical area of under his direct supervision and observation,
and further attests to the applicant's competency in the areas of radiation safety, positioning, patient instruction, anatomy, pathology and technical
factors.

Radiologic Technologist/Doctor of Medicine/Osteopathy Date
Notary Seal

City/County of State of

Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of 20

My Commission expires

Signature of Notary Public
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