
9960 Mayland Drive 
Suite 300 
Perimeter Center 
Henrico, Virginia 23233 
(804) 367-4515       www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/nursing 

CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS  
REPEAT EXAMINATION APPLICATION 

Check One:   RN  LPN 
Fee: $50 

 COMPACT INFORMATION:
Virginia is a Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) participating state. Virginia implemented the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) on 
January 19, 2018. In order to receive a license with multi-state privilege(s), an applicant must meet all Uniform Licensure Requirements in 
accordance with Virginia Code § 54.1- 3040.3 C. If you do not meet all Uniform Licensure Requirements (ULRs) OR you reside in a ‘non-
compact’ state, you may be eligible for a single-state license authorizing practice only in Virginia.   

If your Primary State of Residence (PSOR) is a compact state, you must apply for licensure in your PSOR (home state).  Primary state of 
residence (PSOR) is defined by the NLC as: the state of a person’s declared fixed permanent and principal home or domicile for legal 
purposes.  If your PSOR is Virginia or a non-compact state, you must obtain a Virginia license to practice as a nurse in Virginia. Please 
indicate on the application your primary state of residence. 

• In accordance with Virginia law Virginia Code §54.1-3040.3 (C): If you meet all Uniform Licensure Requirements (ULRs)
and your PSOR is Virginia, you will be granted a license with multi-state privilege that allows you to practice in other
compact states. For current information on the NLC go to: https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm.

REQUIREMENTS BELOW - Check COMPLETED applicable items included with your application: 

Completed Application to VBON* and required Fee: fee must be paid by check or money order made payable to Treasurer 
of Virginia. Your application will not be reviewed until you have submitted payment and fees are non-refundable. 
Note: If it has been more than one (1) year from the date your initial application was filed with the Board, you are 
required to submit an initial application along with the initial application fee (LPN $170/RN $190). 

Complete fingerprint-based Criminal Background Check (CBC): required by Virginia Code §54.1-3005.1: Register for 
fingerprinting exclusively through Fieldprint Va.  You must contact the VBON CBC unit for your Fieldprint Code that is required 
to register for fingerprinting. More information for initiating the CBC is found at VBON CBC Info. 
*Note: If it has been over one (1) year from the date you previously completed the fingerprinting process for the
VBON, you are required to have another fingerprint-based criminal background check. 

Complete a Separate Application with Pearson Vue to take the NCLEX  Exam online at:  www.pearsonvue.com/nclex or 
by phone at 1-866-496-2539 (pay with either credit or debit using Visa, MasterCard or American Express). 

Download the complete NCLEX Candidate Bulletin from the following website: www.pearsonvue.com/nclex for instructions 
and important information concerning taking the NCLEX and scheduling your appointment to test. 

OTHER INFORMATION: 
 Supporting Documents:

• Name Change: If your name on the repeat application is different from the name on file with your original application, a copy of your
marriage certificate, naturalization certificate or the court order authorizing the change.

 Additional Information:
• Nursing laws and regulations may be obtained at: http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/LawsRegulations/
• Documents submitted with the application are property of the Board and cannot be returned.
• An incomplete application for licensure will be retained on file for one (1) year.  If not completed within one year, a new application

may be necessary.
• For more information on how to access your unofficial exam results, go to Quick Confirm.

INSTRUCTION CHECKLIST MUST BE INCLUDED WITH PAPER APPLICATION 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/nursing
https://www.ncsbn.org/eNLC-ULRs_082917.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter30/section54.1-3040.3/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter30/section54.1-3040.3/
https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter30/section54.1-3005.1/
http://fieldprintvirginia.com/
mailto:VBONCBCUnit@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing/nursing_cbc.htm
http://www.pearsonvue.com/nclex
http://www.pearsonvue.com/nclex
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/LawsRegulations/
https://www.ncsbn.org/1225.htm


 

9960 Mayland Drive 
Suite 300 
Perimeter Center 
Henrico, Virginia 23233 
(804) 367-4515  www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/nursing        

APPLICATION – REPEAT EXAMINATION (RN/LPN) 
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY (Finance Division) FOR OFFICE USE ONLY (BON Staff) 

Fee Paid: 
 $50.00 

Applicant ID # Receipt # Transcript Processed:  Ack. Letter:  Deemed Eligible:  

 License #: Issue Date: Approved By: 

I hereby make application for licensure by examination as a Registered or Practical Nurse in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  The following 
evidence of my qualifications is submitted with a check or money order in the amount of $50.00 made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  
The application fee is non-refundable. 

Disclosure of Addresses 
Pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-2400.02 addresses of licensees are made available to the public.  Normally, the Address of Record is the 
publicly disclosed address.  If you do not want your Address of Record to be made public, you may provide a second, publicly disclosable 
address (e.g. work or practice address). If you would like your Address of Record to be publically available please complete both sections 
with same address. 

Disclosure of Social Security or DMV Control Numbers 
Pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-116 (A) , you are required to submit your social security number or your control number issued by the 
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles*.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not be 
refunded.  This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes 
except as provided for by law.  Federal and state law requires that this number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement 
activities. Under Virginia Code § 54.1-116 (B), foreign nationals who are otherwise qualified as an applicant for a license, certificate or 
registration may be issued a temporary license or authorization to practice, effective for not longer than 90 days. 
 
1. PERSONAL INFORMATION: 

APPLICANT – Please provide the information requested below and on the next 
two pages. Use full name, not initials. 

Applicant Type (Check One):    RN        LPN 

Name:                        Last First 
 
 

Middle/Maiden 
 
 

Suffix 
 

Previous Names Used 
(if applicable or write N/A for not applicable): 

 

Address of Record (Mailing Address): 
 
 

City: 
 
 

State  
 
 

Zip: Telephone Number: 

Publicly Disclosable Address: 
 
 

City: 
 

State  
 

 Zip 
 

Telephone Number: 
 

Email Address:  

Date of Birth:  
___  ___ / ___ ___ / ___ ___ ___ ___ 

 Social Security Number OR Virginia DMV Control #: 
*Note: SSN is required for a permanent license 

 

Print your name as you wish it to appear on your license:  
DECLARATION OF PRIMARY STATE OF RESIDENCE 

 
I declare that the state of:                                              is m    is my Primary State of Residence and that such constitutes my 
permanent and principal home for legal purposes.  (*If not VA, refer to Compact info on the Instruction page). 
 
 

 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/nursing
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter24/section54.1-2400.02/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter1/section54.1-116/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter1/section54.1-116/


2. UNIFORM LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS 
In order to receive a license with multi-state privilege(s), an applicant must meet all Uniform Licensure Requirements in accordance with 
Virginia Code § 54.1- 3040.3 C. If you do not meet all Uniform Licensure Requirements (ULRs) OR you reside in a ‘non-compact’ state, you 
may be eligible for a single-state license authorizing practice only in Virginia. For current information on the NLC go to: 
https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm.   

Do you meet all Uniform Licensure Requirements in accordance with Virginia Code § 54.1- 3040.3 C?  YES        *NO  
*If No, provide details in Explanation Section. 
3. ADDITIONAL QUESTIONS 

Answer YES or NO to EACH of the following: 
1. Have you ever been convicted, pled guilty to or pled Nolo Contendere to the violation of any federal, state or other statute or ordinance 

constituting a felony or misdemeanor?  (Including convictions for driving under the influence, but excluding traffic violations) YES   NO  
A. If YES, detail under Explanation section (if information previously submitted to Board, state this along with conviction details).   

2. Within the past five (5) years, have you exhibited any conduct or behavior that could call into question your ability to practice in a competent 
and professional manner? YES   NO    
A. If YES, detail under Explanation section. 
B. Within the past five (5) years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct or behavior? YES   NO  

3. Do you currently have any physical condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to perform any of the obligations and 
responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could 
reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing nurse. YES   NO   
A. If YES, detail under Explanation section. (Note: The Board may request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing your 

current condition and ability to safely practice.  You may consider providing this documentation with your application or have your 
provider send this documentation directly to the Board). 

4. Do you currently have any mental health condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to perform any of the obligations and 
responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could 
reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing nurse. YES   NO  
A. If YES, detail under Explanation section. (Note: The Board may request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing your 

current condition and ability to safely practice.  You may consider providing this documentation with your application or have your 
provider send this documentation directly to the Board). 

5. Do you currently have any condition or impairment related to alcohol or other substance use that affects or limits your ability to perform any of 
the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the 
condition could reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing nurse. YES     NO  
A. If YES, detail under Explanation section. (Note: The Board may request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing your 

current condition and ability to safely practice.  You may consider providing this documentation with your application or have your 
provider send this documentation directly to the Board). 

6. Do you wish to have accommodation for taking the NCLEX due to a disability? YES    NO   
a. If yes, and you are requesting accommodations for the first time, please provide the documentation listed below.  If you were approved 

for accommodations with your initial application for licensure by examination please state that the documents are on file with 
the Board in the Explanation section below.  

b. Applicants who wish to request accommodations because of a disability must complete the application for licensure by examination and 
submit along with the application and fee the following documentation to the Board of Nursing office: 
1. A letter of request from the candidate that specifies the testing accommodations being requested; 
2. A written report of an evaluation (educational, psychological, or physical) within the preceding two years from a qualified 

professional which states a diagnosis of the disability, describes the disability, and recommends specific accommodations; 
• This evaluation should include a professionally recognized diagnosis of the disability and identification of the standardized and 

professionally recognized tests/assessments given (e.g. Woodcock-Johnson, Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale); 
• If testing was completed more than two years prior to this request, a physician or psychologist must provide a summary stating why 

current testing is not needed (e.g. the disability does not change over time and new testing would not reveal new information); 
• The scores resulting  from testing, interpretation of the scores, and evaluations; 
• The recommendations for testing accommodations with a stated rationale as to why the requested accommodation is necessary 

and appropriate for the diagnosed disability; and 
3. A written statement from the Program Director (or designee) of the nursing or nurse aide education program which describes any 

testing accommodations made while the student was enrolled in the program. 
 

Note: The above information may be sent at the same time as the application or after the application has been 
submitted but must be received within twelve months (1 year) of submitting the application. 

https://www.ncsbn.org/NLC_ULRs.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter30/section54.1-3040.3/
https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm
https://www.ncsbn.org/NLC_ULRs.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter30/section54.1-3040.3/


 

EXPLANATION SECTION (If no information provided here: line through Section; or Attach additional pages if necessary): 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

SIGN AND DATE CERTIFICATION BELOW 

CERTIFICATION 
I certify by entering my signature below, I am the person applying for licensure and meet the qualifications required by Virginia 
law and regulations.  Further, I certify the information provided in this application has been personally provided and reviewed 
by me and that statements made on the application are true and complete.  I understand that providing false or misleading 
information as well as omitting information in response to information requested in this application or as part of the application 
process is considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for denial of or taking disciplinary action against an 
existing license. 
 

Signature: 
 

Date: 
 

 
Revised: 11/12/2019 


