
 

9960 Mayland Drive 
Suite 300 
Perimeter Center 
Henrico, Virginia 23233 
(804) 367-4515        www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing 

CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS APPLICATION FOR 
RESTRICTED VOLUNTEER LICENSE 

 

Check One: 

 RN $95 
 LPN $85 

 Nurse Practitioner $65 
 Pres. Auth. $38 

Virginia Code § 54.1-3011.01: Restricted volunteer license for registered or practical nurses. The Board may issue a 
restricted volunteer license to a registered or practical nurse who, within the past five years, held an unrestricted active 
license as a registered or practical nurse issued by the Board or another state, which was in good standing at the time the 
license expired or became inactive. A restricted volunteer license shall only be valid in the Commonwealth and shall not 
confer any multistate licensure privilege. 
 
Virginia Code § 54.1-2957.001: Restricted volunteer license for nurse practitioners. The Board of Medicine and the 
Board of Nursing may jointly issue a restricted volunteer license to a nurse practitioner who (i) within the past five years held 
an unrestricted license as a nurse practitioner in the Commonwealth or another state that was in good standing at the time 
the license expired or became inactive and (ii) holds an active license or a volunteer restricted license as a registered nurse 
or a multistate licensure privilege. Note: A nurse practitioner holding a restricted volunteer license may obtain prescriptive 
authority pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-2957.01. 

REQUIREMENTS BELOW- Check applicable COMPLETED items that are included with your application: 

 
 

Completed Application and required Fee submitted to board prior to engaging in such practice: acceptable 
fees include payment by check or money order made payable to Treasurer of Virginia. Your application will not be 
reviewed or considered until you have submitted payment and fees are non-refundable. 
 

 Your signed application authorizes release of confidential information, affirms that your application is complete 
and correct, and attests that you have read and understand and will remain current with the laws and regulations 
governing the practice of nursing in Virginia.  Additionally, it verifies that no remuneration will be received directly 
or indirectly for nursing services. 

 
 

For the past five (5) years, applicants must: 

 Have held an unrestricted license as an RN, LPN or NP in Virginia or another state that was in good standing at 
the time of expiration or inactivation;  

 Hold an active license, volunteer restricted license or multi-state privilege license as an RN or LPN.  

 Submit evidence of license verification if you do not hold a Virginia license as an RN, LPN or NP. 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

 Check your license status by going to: License Lookup (*license information is posted in real time). 

 Nursing laws and regulations may be obtained at www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing.  

 Documents submitted with the application are property of the Board and cannot be returned. 

INSTRUCTION CHECKLIST MUST BE INCLUDED WITH APPLICATION 

 

  

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter30/section54.1-3011.01/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter29/section54.1-2957.001/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter29/section54.1-2957.01/
https://dhp.virginiainteractive.org/Lookup/Index
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing


 

9960 Mayland Drive 
Suite 300 
Perimeter Center 
Henrico, Virginia 23233 
(804) 367-4515                       www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing 

APPLICATION – RESTRICTED VOLUNTEER LICENSE 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY (FINANCE DIVISION) FOR OFFICE USE ONLY (VBON 
STAFF) 

Fee paid/Check one: 

 RN ($95)                LPN ($85) 
 Nurse Practitioner ($65) 
 Pres. Auth. ($38) 

Applicant ID#: Receipt #: Approved: Date: 
 
 

I hereby make application to for a Volunteer Restricted nursing license in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  The following information in 
support of my application is submitted with a check or money order made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia for the applicable fee.  The 
fees are non-refundable. 

Disclosure of Addresses 
Pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-2400.02 addresses of licensees are made available to the public.  Normally, the Address of Record is the 
publicly disclosed address.  If you do not want your Address of Record to be made public, you may provide a second, publicly disclosable 
address (e.g. work or practice address). If you would like your Address of Record to be publically available  complete both sections with 
same address. 
 

Disclosure of Social Security or DMV Control Numbers 
Pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-116 (A) , you are required to submit your social security number or your control number issued by the 
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not be 
refunded.  This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes 
except as provided for by law.  Federal and state law requires that this number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement 
activities. 

1. APPLICANT -  provide the information requested below 
and on all pages. (Print or Type)  
Use full name, not initials. 

Applicant Type (Check One): 

 RN       LPN       Nurse Practitioner      Pres. Auth. 

Name:        Last 
 
 

First 
 
 

 Middle/Maiden 
 
 

Suffix 
 
 

Address of Record (Mailing Address) 
 
 

City 
 
 

State  
 
 

Zip Telephone Number 

Publicly Disclosable Address 
 
 

City 
 

State  
 

Zip 
 

Telephone Number 
 
 

Email Address:  

Date of Birth : 

___  ___ / ___ ___ / ___ ___ ___ ___ 

 Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number* 

 

Virginia RN, LPN, NP or Pres. Auth License Number(s): 
 
 

Full Name at Time of Initial Licensure: 

RECORD OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSES (Except those listed above) 
 

State/Province: Profession: License #: Issue Date: Expiration Date: 
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http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter24/section54.1-2400.02/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter1/section54.1-116/


APPLICATION – RESTRICTED VOLUNTEER LICENSE 

PART 2.  ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS.  If either is answered “YES,” explain in “PART E below: 

1.  Have you ever had disciplinary action taken against your license or certification in Virginia or any jurisdiction?  YES   NO  

2.  Is there any investigation of you or action pending against you in Virginia or any other jurisdiction? YES    NO  

3.  Have you ever been convicted, pled guilty to or pled Nolo Contendere to the violation of any federal, state or other statute or 
ordinance constituting a felony or misdemeanor?  (Including convictions for driving under the influence, but excluding traffic 
violations)?  YES   NO    

4.  Within the past five (5) years, have you exhibited any conduct or behavior that could call into question your ability to practice in a 
competent and professional manner? YES   NO    

A. If YES, detail under Explanation section. 

B. Within the past five (5) years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct or behavior?  
YES   NO  

5.  Within the past five (5) years, have you been disciplined by any entity? YES   NO  

A. If YES, detail under Explanation section and provide any associated orders or letter from entity. 

B. Within the past five (5) years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct or behavior?  
YES   NO  

6. Do you currently have any physical condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to perform any of the obligations and 
responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition 
could reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing nurse. YES   NO  

A. If YES, detail under Explanation section. (Note: The Board may request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing 
your current condition and ability to safely practice.  You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or 
have your provider send this documentation directly to the Board). 

7. Do you currently have any mental health condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to perform any of the obligations and 
responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition 
could reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing nurse. YES   NO  

A. If YES, detail under Explanation section. (Note: The Board may request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing 
your current condition and ability to safely practice.  You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or 
have your provider send this documentation directly to the Board). 

8. Do you currently have any condition or impairment related to alcohol or other substance use that affects or limits your ability to 
perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner? “Currently” means 
recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing nurse.  
YES   NO  

A. If YES, detail under Explanation section. (Note: The Board may request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing 
your current condition and ability to safely practice.  You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or 
have your provider send this documentation directly to the Board). 

9. Within the past five (5) years, have any conditions or restrictions been imposed upon you or your practice to avoid disciplinary action 
by any entity? YES   NO  

A. If YES, detail under Explanation section.  (Note: The Board may request a copy of a current participation contract and summary 
of compliance and/or documentation of successful completion.  You may consider providing this documentation with your 
application or have the program send this documentation directly to the Board).  
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APPLICATION – RESTRICTED VOLUNTEER LICENSE 

PART E: EXPLANATIONS (If no information provided here: line through Section) Attach additional pages if necessary: 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

CERTIFICATION 
I certify by entering my signature below, I am the person applying for licensure and I meet the qualifications required by Virginia law and 
regulations.  Further, I certify the information provided in this application has been personally provided and reviewed by me and that 
statements made on the application are true and complete.  I understand that providing false or misleading information as well as omitting 
information in response to information requested in this application or as part of the application process is considered falsification of the 
application and may be grounds for denial of or taking disciplinary action against an existing license. 

 
I acknowledge that the restricted volunteer license sought through this application shall only be valid in compliance with the law and 
Board regulations for practice within the limits of my license to practice in public health or community free clinics that provide services to 
underserved populations pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-3011.01 and/or Virginia Code § 54.1-2957.001.  By signing below, I also attest 
that I will not receive remuneration directly or indirectly for providing nursing services. 

 
 

Signature: 
 

Date: 
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Revised: 8/7/18 
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