
SP-65 (Rev. 07-01-2020) Department of State Police 

Virginia Firearms Transaction Record 
 

Fee Collected:   $2.00 Resident    $5.00 Non-Resident    $5.00 Mail-in Transaction                Transaction Serial Number  A000000  

NOTE: Prepare in original only. 

SECTION A -- MUST BE COMPLETED PERSONALLY BY TRANSFEREE (BUYER) 
1.  Transferee’s (Buyer’s) Name  (Last, First, Middle) 
 
       
2.  Male 
  Female 

3. Birth Date  (Month, Day, Year) 
          

 4. Social Security Number or Other Identifying Number  
     (See Important Notice 2 on back of form) 

5. Race  (Ethnicity) (Check one or more boxes)  
   American Indian or Alaska Native   Black or African American   Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 
   Hispanic or Latino   Asian   White  

6. Are you a citizen of the United States?       Yes          No   (See Important Notice 5 on back of form for purchase of an assault firearm.) 
   

    If “No,” what is your INS-issued alien number or admission number?   _____________________________________________ 

Certification of Transferee - Answer the questions below by writing "yes" or "no" in the boxes to the right of the questions. 
AN UNTRUTHFUL ANSWER MAY SUBJECT YOU TO CRIMINAL PROSECUTION 

 
7. Have you been convicted of a felony offense or found guilty or adjudicated delinquent as a juvenile 14 years of age or older at the time of offense of a 

delinquent act which would be a felony if committed by an adult? (See Exceptions on back of form.) 
                                                                                             Initial here to document reading and understanding of the Exceptions on back of form.   

 

 
8. Are you subject to a court order restraining you from harassing, stalking, or threatening your child or an intimate partner, or a child of such partner, are you 

subject to a protective order, or are you subject to an emergency substantial risk order or substantial risk order?  (See Important Notice 3 on back of form.) 
 

 

 
9. Have you ever been acquitted by reason of insanity and prohibited from purchasing, possessing or transporting a firearm pursuant to  §18.2-308.1:1 or any 

substantially similar law of any other jurisdiction, been adjudicated legally incompetent, mentally incapacitated or adjudicated an incapacitated person and 
prohibited from purchasing a firearm pursuant to § 18.2-308.1:2 or any substantially similar law of any other jurisdiction, been involuntarily admitted to an 
inpatient facility or involuntarily ordered to outpatient mental health treatment and prohibited from purchasing a firearm pursuant to § 18.2-308.1:3 or any 
substantially similar law of any other jurisdiction, or been the subject of a temporary detention order pursuant to § 37.2-809 and subsequently agreed to 
voluntary admission pursuant to § 37.2-805? 

 

 

I certify that the above answers and answers on the corresponding Federal Firearms Transaction Record (ATF F 4473) form are true and correct.  I 
understand that I may not receive a firearm if I am prohibited by federal or state law. I understand that the making of a false statement on this form and/or 
the corresponding federal form is punishable as a felony. I hereby consent to having the transferor (seller) request a criminal history record information 
check be performed by the Department of State Police about me in connection with this transaction. 
10.a. Transferee’s Signature   10.b. Date ((Month, Day, Year) 11. UFIN or UPIN (optional) 

(See Important Notice 4 on back of form.) 
 

 

12. State Police Approval Number 
or Other Final Status 

SECTION B-- MUST BE COMPLETED BY TRANSFEROR (SELLER) 
13. Establishment of Identification and Residency 
 

A. Photo-ID Issued by a Governmental Agency: ____________________________________ Issue Date_____________ State:__________ 
                                                                                                           (Driver’s License Number or Identification Card Number or Other)  
B. Nonresident Secondary ID:______________________________________ (Must contain  the exact name and address as appears on the Photo-ID) 
 
C. Military Personnel:  □ Identification Card  □ Permanent Orders to a Duty Post in Virginia or the Pentagon  □ Leave and Earnings Statement 

 
D. Multiple Handgun exemption:     Va. Concealed Handgun Permit ____________________________                  Trade of a Handgun 

 
   Exchange of a Handgun Original Doc No: ________________     Multiple Handgun Certificate No: _________________Approval No:____________ 
 
  Private Security Company Name:______________________    Lost or Stolen Handgun Date:___________ORI:__________Case No:____________  
 
   Law Enforcement Officer/ Agency/Corrections Facility Agency:_________________________       Private Sale of Curios/Relics      

14.  No. of Firearms by Category (Insert the number beside the corresponding category.  “Other” is provided to accommodate federal requirements only.) 
        Pistol(s)               Revolver(s)              Rifle(s)               Shotgun(s)                Other(s)  

15.  Dealer Identification Number (DIN) 

16. Employee/Seller Identification Number 
     (See Instructions on back of form). 

17. Federal firearms License 
     (Last 5 Digits) 

18. Jurisdiction of Sale 
 (County or City) 

THE PERSON MAKING THE ACTUAL FIREARMS TRANSFER MUST COMPLETE ITEMS 19 and 20 
19.  Transferor's (Seller's) Signature and Title 20. Transaction Date 

DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE -- TO BE COMPLETED BY STATE POLICE 

 Approved  Not Approved (Signature)   
 Superintendent or Designee Date 

ORIGINAL 

30 days must have elapsed since the date of issue of an original or duplicate driver’s license unless a copy 
of the Virginia DMV driver’s record shows the original date of issue was more than 30 days. 



IMPORTANT NOTICES 
1. Unless otherwise specified, all section (“§”) references herein are to the Code of Virginia (1950, as amended). 
2. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER OR OTHER IDENTIFYING NUMBER: The social security number is solicited pursuant to § 18.2-308.2:2. If provided, the social security 

number will help prevent misidentification and will allow for a more thorough search of all state and federal computerized criminal history records. The social security 
number will not be made part of any public record. Pursuant to § 18.2-308.2:2, the State Police shall not maintain records longer than 30-days, except for multiple 
handgun transactions for which records shall be maintained for 12 months from the date of transaction, pertaining to any buyer or transferee who is not found to be 
prohibited from possessing or transporting a firearm under state or federal law. This information is provided pursuant to the Government Data Collection and 
Dissemination Practices Act (§2.2-3800, et seq). § 2.2-3800 (C) (10) provides that an agency shall not collect personal information except as explicitly or implicitly 
authorized by law. Pursuant to § 2.2-3803 (A), it is unlawful for an agency to require an individual to disclose or furnish his social security number for any purpose in 
connection with any activity, or to refuse any service, privilege or right to an individual wholly or partly because the individual does not disclose such number, unless the 
disclosure or furnishing of such number is specifically required by federal or state law. Disclosure of your social security number is not mandatory in the completion of this 
form. An example of an “other identifying number “is a home state driver’s license number. 

3. ORDERS OF PROTECTION AND SUBSTANTIAL RISK ORDERS:  Pursuant to § 18.2-308.1:4 and 18.2-308.1:6,  it shall be unlawful for any person who is subject to (i) 
a protective order entered pursuant to § 16.1-253.1, 16.1-253.4, 16.1-278.2, 16.1-279.1, 19.2-152.8, 19.2-152.9, or § 19.2-152.10; (ii) an order issued pursuant to 
subsection B of § 20-103; (iii) an order entered pursuant to subsection D of § 18.2-60.3; (iv) a preliminary protective order entered pursuant to subsection F of § 16.1-253 
where a petition alleging abuse or neglect has been filed; (v) an emergency substantial risk order or a substantial risk order entered pursuant to §19.2-152.13 or 19.2-
152.14; or (vi) an order issued by a tribunal of another state, the United States or any of its territories, possessions or commonwealths, or the District of Columbia 
pursuant to a statute that is substantially similar to those cited in clauses (i), (ii), (iii), (iv), or (v) to purchase or transport any firearm while the order is in effect. A violation 
of these sections is a Class 1 misdemeanor.  

4. UFIN OR UPIN: A Unique Firearms Identification Number (UFIN) may be issued by the Virginia State Police upon successful appeal of a denied firearms purchase 
application, and may be used in future firearm purchase applications with Virginia firearms dealers, only.  Or, a Unique Personal Identification Number (UPIN) may be 
issued by the FBI for nationwide use. In either instance, a complete criminal history record information check will continue to be performed at the time of purchase. A 
UFIN or UPIN will prompt the State Police Firearms Transaction Center to check the appropriate appeals file in the processing of your transaction.  

5. SALE OF AN ASSAULT WEAPON: Pursuant to § 18.2-308.2:2, no dealer shall sell, rent, trade or transfer from his inventory any assault firearm to any person who is not 
a citizen of the United States or who is not a person lawfully admitted for permanent resident.   

 
EXCEPTIONS 

 
A person who has been convicted of a felony is not prohibited from purchasing, receiving, or possessing a firearm if: (1) under the law where the conviction occurred, the person has been 
pardoned, this conviction has been expunged or set aside, or the person has had civil rights (the right to vote, sit on a jury and hold public office) restored AND (2) the person is not prohibited 
by the law where the conviction occurred from receiving or possessing firearms (MUST HAVE BOTH 1 & 2). Persons subject to this exception should answer "no" to question 7.  
 
A person who, pursuant to § 18.2-308.1:1, 18.2-308.1:2, or 18.2-308.1:3, has had his firearms rights restored by a court after having been prohibited from purchasing, possessing, or 
transporting a firearm as a result of being (i) acquitted by reason of insanity; (ii) adjudicated legally incompetent, mentally incapacitated, or incapacitated; (iii) involuntarily admitted to a facility or 
ordered to mandatory outpatient treatment; or (iv) the subject of a temporary detention order and subsequently agreeing to voluntary admission should answer “no” to question 9. 
 
It shall be unlawful for (i) any person who has been convicted of a felony; (ii) any person adjudicated delinquent, as a juvenile 14 years of age or older at the time of the offense of murder in 
violation of § 18.2-31 or 18.2-32, kidnapping in violation of § 18.2-47, robbery by the threat or presentation of firearms in violation of § 18.2-58,  or rape in violation of § 18.2-61; or (iii) any 
person under the age of 29 who was adjudicated delinquent as a juvenile 14 years of age or older at the time of the offense of a delinquent act which would be a felony if committed by an 
adult, other than those felonies set forth in clause (ii), whether such conviction or adjudication occurred under the laws of the Commonwealth, or any other state, the District of Columbia, the 
United States or any territory thereof, to knowingly and intentionally possess or transport any firearm discharge and not otherwise prohibited.   
 
Possession of firearms by persons adjudicated delinquent; military service exception. Pursuant to § 18.2-308.2,  an individual who was adjudicated delinquent when 14 years of age or older of 
a delinquent act that would be a felony if committed by an adult and has completed a term of enlistment of no less than two years in the Armed Forces of the United States and, if such person 
has been discharged from the Armed Forces of the United States, received an honorable discharge, is not disqualified from purchasing a firearm. This exception does not apply to convictions 
of murder in violation of § 18.2-31 or 18.2-32, kidnapping in violation of § 18.2-47, robbery by the threat or presentation of firearms in violation of § 18.2-58,  or rape in violation of § 18.2-61. 

INSTRUCTIONS TO TRANSFEREE (BUYER) 
 

The buyer of a firearm will in every instance personally complete Section A of the form and certify (sign) that the answers are true and correct.   
 
IF THE BUYER IS UNABLE TO READ AND/OR TO WRITE: The answers may be written by other persons excluding the seller of the firearm.  Two persons (other than the seller or 
employees of the seller) will then sign as witnesses to the buyer’s answers and signature.  Two persons, other than the transferor, must then sign the form alongside the buyer's mark as 
witnesses to the transaction AND TO AFFIRM THE PURCHASER'S IDENTITY.   
 

TRANSFEREE’S (BUYERS) RIGHTS 
 
The individual denied the purchase or pawn redemption of the firearm(s) who believes that he or she is not prohibited by state or federal law may pursue the matter as follows:  (1) Contact the 
Firearms Transaction Center Help Desk at (804) 674-2292 or (804) 674-2788 to discuss the ineligible determination and/or to provide additional information deemed pertinent to the final 
determination of eligibility, or email   firearms@vsp.virginia.gov. (2) Review their criminal history record and request correction of the record if the record is found to be in error, pursuant to § 
9.1-132, provided that any such action is initiated within 30 days of the denial.  (3) Exercise their right to institute a civil action pursuant to § 9.1-135, provided that any such action is initiated 
within 30 days of the denial.  (4) Challenge to the accuracy of a record, in writing, to: FBI, NICS Operations Center, Criminal Justice Information Services Division, 1000 Custer Hollow Road, 
Module C-3, Clarksburg, West Virginia 26306-0147, or via the NICS Appeal Website at  http://www.fbi.gov/nics-appeals. This process of appeal is authorized by 28 CFR 25.10. 
 

INSTRUCTIONS TO TRANSFEROR (SELLER) 
 
EMPLOYEE/SELLER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER recorded in Block 16 represents the person who ensured that Section A was completed in its entirety and signed by the customer, who 
reviewed the identification and residency documentation, and completed Section B in accordance with procedures set forth by the Virginia State Police, including:  
 
Ensure that a duplicate or new issued photo-ID issued by DMV contains an issuance date of thirty-days or more prior to the date of purchase.  
  
The dealer must retain the original completed form for a period of not less than two years.  Copy 1 of this form, and corresponding fee collected from the purchaser shall be forwarded to the 
State Police pursuant to § 18.2-308.2:2. 



SP-65 (Rev. 07-01-2020) Department of State Police 
Virginia Firearms Transaction Record 

 

Fee Collected:   $2.00 Resident    $5.00 Non-Resident    $5.00 Mail-in Transaction                Transaction Serial Number  A000000  

NOTE: Prepare in original only. 

SECTION A -- MUST BE COMPLETED PERSONALLY BY TRANSFEREE (BUYER) 
1.  Transferee’s (Buyer’s) Name  (Last, First, Middle) 
 
       
2.  Male 
  Female 

3. Birth Date  (Month, Day, Year) 
          

 4. Social Security Number or Other Identifying Number  
     (See Important Notice 2 on back of form) 

5. Race  (Ethnicity) (Check one or more boxes)  
   American Indian or Alaska Native   Black or African American   Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 
   Hispanic or Latino   Asian   White  

6. Are you a citizen of the United States?       Yes          No   (See Important Notice 5 on back of form for purchase of an assault firearm.) 
   

    If “No,” what is your INS-issued alien number or admission number?   _____________________________________________ 

Certification of Transferee - Answer the questions below by writing "yes" or "no" in the boxes to the right of the questions. 
AN UNTRUTHFUL ANSWER MAY SUBJECT YOU TO CRIMINAL PROSECUTION 

 
7. Have you been convicted of a felony offense or found guilty or adjudicated delinquent as a juvenile 14 years of age or older at the time of offense of a 

delinquent act which would be a felony if committed by an adult? (See Exceptions on back of form.) 
                                                                                             Initial here to document reading and understanding of the Exceptions on back of form.   

 

 
8. Are you subject to a court order restraining you from harassing, stalking, or threatening your child or an intimate partner, or a child of such partner, are you 

subject to a protective order, or are you subject to an emergency substantial risk order or substantial risk order?  (See Important Notice 3 on back of form.) 
 

 

 
9. Have you ever been acquitted by reason of insanity and prohibited from purchasing, possessing or transporting a firearm pursuant to  §18.2-308.1:1 or any 

substantially similar law of any other jurisdiction, been adjudicated legally incompetent, mentally incapacitated or adjudicated an incapacitated person and 
prohibited from purchasing a firearm pursuant to § 18.2-308.1:2 or any substantially similar law of any other jurisdiction, been involuntarily admitted to an 
inpatient facility or involuntarily ordered to outpatient mental health treatment and prohibited from purchasing a firearm pursuant to § 18.2-308.1:3 or any 
substantially similar law of any other jurisdiction, or been the subject of a temporary detention order pursuant to § 37.2-809 and subsequently agreed to 
voluntary admission pursuant to § 37.2-805? 

 

 

I certify that the above answers and answers on the corresponding Federal Firearms Transaction Record (ATF F 4473) form are true and correct.  I 
understand that I may not receive a firearm if I am prohibited by federal or state law. I understand that the making of a false statement on this form and/or 
the corresponding federal form is punishable as a felony. I hereby consent to having the transferor (seller) request a criminal history record information 
check be performed by the Department of State Police about me in connection with this transaction. 
10.a. Transferee’s Signature   10.b. Date ((Month, Day, Year) 11. UFIN or UPIN (optional) 

(See Important Notice 4 on back of form.) 
 

 

12. State Police Approval Number 
or Other Final Status 

SECTION B-- MUST BE COMPLETED BY TRANSFEROR (SELLER) 
13. Establishment of Identification and Residency 
 

A. Photo-ID Issued by a Governmental Agency: ____________________________________ Issue Date_____________ State:__________ 
                                                                                                           (Driver’s License Number or Identification Card Number or Other)  
B. Nonresident Secondary ID:______________________________________ (Must contain  the exact name and address as appears on the Photo-ID) 
 
C. Military Personnel:  □ Identification Card  □ Permanent Orders to a Duty Post in Virginia or the Pentagon  □ Leave and Earnings Statement 

 
D. Multiple Handgun exemption:     Va. Concealed Handgun Permit ____________________________                  Trade of a Handgun 

 
   Exchange of a Handgun Original Doc No: ________________     Multiple Handgun Certificate No: _________________Approval No:____________ 
 
  Private Security Company Name:______________________    Lost or Stolen Handgun Date:___________ORI:__________Case No:____________  
 
   Law Enforcement Officer/ Agency/Corrections Facility Agency:_________________________       Private Sale of Curios/Relics      

14.  No. of Firearms by Category (Insert the number beside the corresponding category.  “Other” is provided to accommodate federal requirements only.) 

        Pistol(s)               Revolver(s)              Rifle(s)               Shotgun(s)                Other(s)  
15.  Dealer Identification Number (DIN) 

16. Employee/Seller Identification Number 
     (See Instructions on back of form). 

17. Federal firearms License 
     (Last 5 Digits) 

18. Jurisdiction of Sale 
 (County or City) 

THE PERSON MAKING THE ACTUAL FIREARMS TRANSFER MUST COMPLETE ITEMS 19 and 20 
19.  Transferor's (Seller's) Signature and Title 20. Transaction Date 

DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE -- TO BE COMPLETED BY STATE POLICE 
 Approved  Not Approved (Signature)   

 Superintendent or Designee Date 
Copy 

 

30 days must have elapsed since the date of issue of an original or duplicate driver’s license unless a copy 
of the Virginia DMV driver’s record shows the original date of issue was more than 30 days. 


