Corn Assessment Return Instructions

General A Virginia Comn Assessment is levied on corn produced in Virginia
for sale. The handler (defined as a processor, dealer, shipper, country buyer
or exporter who purchases comn from farmers, a farmer who sells hisfher
com out of state, or any person acquiring property in cormn from a producer,
when the actual or constructive possession of such com is taken as part
payment or in satisfaction of such claim) is responsible for payment of the
assessment. The assessment must be deducted by handters from payments
to farmers for corn purchased.

Filing Procedure: Handlers must file the Corn Assessment and the tax paid
by the handler with the Virginia Department of Taxation on or before the last
day of the month following the end of each quarter. Quarters end March 31,
June 30, September 30, and December 31.

Send completed return to: Virginia Department of Taxation
Virginia Corn Assessment
PO Box 2185
Richmond VA 23218-2185

Change of Address or Out-of-Business: If you change your business or
mailing address, or if you are completely out of business, complete Form
R-3, Registration Change Request or notify the department by letter. Send
the form cr letter to the Virginia Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 1114,
Richmond, Virginia 23218-1114.

Questions: Call (804) 786-2450 or write the Virginia Department of
Taxation, P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA 23218-0715. If you have Internet
access, you can obtain most Virginia tax forms from the Department's
Web-site: www.tax.virginia.gov.

Assessment Rate: The assessment is 1 cent per bushel.

Penalties and Interest: If the assessment is not paid when due, a penalty
of 5% of the tax due will be added to the tax, and the Virginia Department
of Taxation will notify the taxpayer of such delinquency. If such deficiency is
not paid within 30 days of the notification, interest will accrue on unpaid tax
at the rate of 1% per month, from the due date through the date paid.

Declaration and Signature: Be sure to sign, date and enter your phone
number in the space indicated.

Work Sheet For Computing Corn Assessment
Complete this Worksheet and transfer items indicated by the arrows to corresponding tines on Corn Assessment return (Form CO-1) below.

1 Number of Bushels Handled

number of bushels of his own corn handled.)

Enter the number of Virginia produced corn handled during this reporting period by >
handler from farmers. (NOTE: Any handler who is also a producer must include in this item the

2 Number of Bushels Sold

been previously collected.

Enter the number of bushels of Virginia produced com sold during this reporting period by farmer to
out-of-state handlers, to other farmers or to others within or outside of Virginia on which tax had not

A

3 Total Number of Bushels

Enter the total number of bushels subject to assessment. (Add Lines 1 and 2)

4 Assessment

Enter the amount of the assessment at the rate of one cent per bushel. (Line 3 X $.01)

5 Penalty for Late Filing and Payment
See Instructions above

6 Interest for Late Filing and Payment
See Instructions above

7 Total Amount Due
Enter the total amount due (Add Lines 4, 5 and 6)
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Detach at dotted line below. DO NOT SEND ENTIRE PAGE.

Form CO-1 Virginia Corn Assessment Return

(Doc ID 261) For assistance, call (804)786-2450.

id date

D:heck if Qut-of-Business and enter the

Period Due Date

1 Number of Bushels
Handled

0000000000000000 218888 0OOOOO

2 Number of Bushels Sold

Account Number FEIN 3 Total Number of Bushels
(Add Lines 1 and 2)

Name 4 Tax
(Line 3 X $.01)

Address 5 Penalty for Late Filing
and Payment

City State Zip

| declare that this retum (including accompanying schedules and statements) has been
examined by me and to the best of my knowledge and belief is true, correct and complete.

Signature
Va. Dept. of Taxation CO-ARW REV 5/06

Date Phone Number

6 Interest for Late Filing
and Payment

7 Total Amount Due
{Add Lines 4, § and 6)




